Evangeline Lilly talks Lee Pace

lee-pace-photoshoot

Evangeline Lilly talks Lee Pace.

I thought this was interesting. Apparently Lee Pace lived with Evangeline Lilly and her family for a while when they were filming The Hobbit.

Thank you to leepace.net for this interview.

I went looking for info about Lee Pace because I really missed him in the Desolation of Smaug premiere publicity. Didn’t find anything about why he wasn’t there. Still, glad he’s busy working and has projects lined up. Halt & Catch Fire, a new tv show. And he is supposedly connected to a film about Lance Armstrong. Plus he has The Guardians of the Galaxy coming out next year, as well as The Hobbit: There and Back Again.

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013) - filmstill

Lee Pace, Peter Jackson and Evangeline Lilly

Also, I am enjoying many of the cartoons of Thranduil/Lee Pace on tumblr. I’ve asked for permission to post some stuff here. Will do if they say it’s okay. Anybody know why Lee wasn’t at any of the premieres?

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Evangeline Lilly talks Lee Pace

  1. Servetus says:

    Lee Pace news says filming in Atlanta. http://lee-pace.net/category/lee-news/#

      • Servetus says:

        I know; Lee Pace is really magnetic, and now after I’ve seen the film I’d love to have heard more from him in interviews, etc. OTOH, there were so many other “new” actors to be heard from (Cumberbatch, Bloom, Lilly, Evans) that if Pace had been aboard we’d have had less Armitage.

      • Marie Astra says:

        Heavens! We wouldn’t want less Armitage! In that case, glad LP was busy!! Seriously though, I would have liked to see more of him. I’m kind of meh about Luke Evans.

  2. I loved Lee in Pushing Daisies and he was good as Thranduil in DoS. Nothing against Lee, but I’m glad he was working during the DoS publicity tour, because Richard didn’t get as much media coverage whenever Orlando, Evangeline, Benedict and the others were around. Case in point are the sheer difference in the number of pictures of Orlando and Evangeline during the LA and Berlin premieres versus Richard’s. And with Lee there, he would have gotten even less.

    I never thought I’d like Luke Evans the way I do now. But ever since seeing him interact with the media, answer questions and even sing on cue, I love him. He has a magnetic personality and charisma, and he and Richard had this complementary and wonderful energy together. Plus, I just saw him a clip of him singing a Filipino love song while doing the publicity tour for Fast & Furious 6, and anyone who can remember the lyrics of a Filipino song I am familiar with but don’t even remember on my own, is cool in my book 🙂

    • Marie Astra says:

      Luke Evans does have a good voice. I was impressed with that interview too! Haven’t seen him in anything, (other than DOS) so I guess I’ll decide if I ever do.

      I definitely like Evangeline Lilly more after the DOS press. I like that she has a geeky personality.

      I’m just not impressed with the press Warner Bros. did for DOS. There was nothing in New York and they really ignored Wellington. And the Los Angeles event was a mess.

      Still, grateful for what we got!! 😀

  3. Since LA never got anything last year, I’m happy with what we did get. It was definitely much better than NY where it was strictly a press affair and the tickets went for $300 and up to benefit AFI. Wellington had their big shindig last year but it wasn’t free. The country had to shell out some money to host the whole production (although it did get a boost in tourism) and so I guess Berlin got the cake this year as far as a fan-friendly premiere.

    http://www.cnn.com/2012/11/27/showbiz/kiwis-hobbit-costs/

    The LA event really was never meant to be a fan event, and as long as people compare it to Berlin or Wellington, LA will always come up short in that regard. It was strictly a media event. That’s why there were so many people with passes to watch the movie, and most, if not all of them were given free by screening companies and from those radio and online contests.

    One of my friends who is an attorney for the entertainment industry told me once that movies aren’t made for the American market. They’re made for China and the rest of the world. That’s why it’s designed to appeal to that market and not us, and that includes the sad LA and NY premieres.

    Come to think of it, they did have a NY premiere for DOS shortly after or at the same time as the Madrid premieres, and it barely even registered on the radar. Evangeline Lilly and Orlando Bloom were in attendance.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Yes, that strangely quiet event with Evangeline Lilly and OB in NYC. I tried finding out more about it and there was very little online.

      Even though the market for these big movies is overseas, I always thought the publicity was generated mostly in the U.S. and London, but I don’t know anything much about it.

      I think the investment has paid off quite well for the Kiwis, since this year they put so much into the publicity for DOS even without a premiere in Wellington. They did the plane and the Book Of NZ, and special tourist promotions in Europe. I think they get a lot of tourism from Europe.

      I didn’t know that about the NY premiere last year. That it was a fundraising event. I think that happens a lot. That premieres are fundraisers.

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Wow, Mr. Pace looks totally different without his elf gear. Better, in my opinion! I would have liked Thranduil to have a bit of chin stubble;)

  5. LG says:

    Interesting post re: Lee Pace and Luke Evans…
    Really liking Luke Evans, saw him in a drama about the great train robbery – he was really good. Plus, he is ripped!! You really realise how good looking and athletic he is when he’s not next to RA! As for Lee Pace, not much experience of him.. Although his some of his early misdemeanours were quite reckless, but I guess we saw a similar naivety with RA in the past. (although not at the same level!!)
    Those two are really blowing up at the moment.. Together with RA.. A development I am rather conflicted about tbh. What RA’s publicist is thinking right now I don’t know! Just ignore it all I guess. But I do admit, I am curious, rightly or wrongly… Of course it wouldn’t change my admiration for him. On the one hand, there is the private shy guy who wants to settle, have kids etc, then there are the LP photos and Xmas together plus not all of what he has said in the press holds true tbh, certainly stuff about his london life (I grew up in same area – he wasn’t living with a woman round then, but I know plenty of best mates who live together, doesn’t mean anything).
    I know one isn’t supposed to talk about such things.. But maybe the elephant needs a trip to the shops.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Thanks for commenting! To be honest, all the whoop-de-do about the pictures just makes me feel sad inside for RA and LP. Why should they have to explain anything about their private lives? And imagine if you want to spend time with someone, for whatever reason, and you have to hide from the public! Yes, it makes me very sad indeed.

  6. LG says:

    Yeah, it’s a bit of an unwelcome Xmas present for him I imagine. It feels like he really comes under the spotlight more than fellow actors, (maybe with the exception of Cumberbatch) and he doesn’t exactly court the press- like so many do. I think a lot of other actors are more open with no problems- those with twitter accts etc and their activities pass without much comment. RA seems to be taking one for the team.

Leave a comment