I’m Just a Girl Who Cain’t Say No

Yes, sadly, I’m just a girl who cain’t say no – to Richard Armitage! OMG! Just when I thought I was getting a grip on this Armitagemania thing … it turns out that I don’t.

I mean, Orgasm-Inducing Armitage?? HERE

RA John Porter

Yes, John Porter is the one for me!

Anyway, the movie of Oklahoma is one of my favorites. Rodgers & Hammerstein are an obsession of mine for ever. My mom loved Rodgers & Hammerstein musicals, and since I was a tiny girl she always made sure I watched the musicals on tv or wherever they happened to be playing. That’s why it was very exciting to me that there was a revival in London of Oklahoma in 1999 with someone called Hugh Jackman as Curly. Heard he was spectacular! So when the show transferred from London to Broadway, I was hoping to see this new phenom. Oh well. He did not transfer with the production. Patrick Wilson was Curly in the Broadway production. He was okay, but not so great. It wasn’t until the DVD of the show was released that I got to see Hugh Jackman as Curly. WOW!

Yes, Hugh Jackman is an exciting stage musical performer. Indeed!

Back to Richard Armitage. Sadly, I’ve never seen Richard Armitage as a musical performer. We do have some video of him in Cats, when he was a dancer in his early years.

RA cats

Cats is not a musical I’ve had any interest in seeing. I did not see it on Broadway, and would not have seen it had I been in London when Richard Armitage was in it. Oh well.

Then this shows up on my Tumblr Butt??

What’s a girl to do? I’m just a girl who cain’t say no!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I’m Just a Girl Who Cain’t Say No

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I hear ya! I can never say no either 😉

  2. guylty says:

    You can never say no to the Arsitage. It would be blasphemy to do so. Long live Armitagemania.

  3. I’d be seeing “Oh What A Beautiful Morning” every morning if I woke up to that amazing Hugh Jackman. My stepfather introduced me to American musicals when I was a teen and this was one of the top songs on his list. Thanks for that link! Oh, to be in the audience…

    • Marie Astra says:

      I actually hear him sing it when I went to Inside the Actors Studio. What a VOICE!!

      • You are sooo lucky! he is a triple threat in Hollywood – sing, dance, act 🙂

      • Marie Astra says:

        Absolutely! He is terrific at them all!! He has an amazing voice and then when you see him dance! Really?? You think how can he do that? He is fantastic. Honestly the part I have the most problem with is his acting. I really don’t think he’s that great. ::ducking:: He gives it his all, but I never buy his performances the way I do Richard Armitage’s. I think RA is WAY better actor. WAY better.

      • What matters as far as Hugh’s acting though is that he sells movie tickets, merchandise and so much more. His acting is good but there’s something about him that made, and still makes Hollywood totally back him up.

        Sometimes it’s not just acting that matters to make it in the business. Hopefully RA has whatever it is to make it in Hollywood after TH. (Now it’s my turn to duck)

      • Marie Astra says:

        Hugh has tried very hard to keep himself viable in Hollywood. He has a reputation as being one of the “nicest” guys in Hollywood. He goes on the talk shows. He makes himself available for whatever opportunity is out there – Saturday Night Live, talk shows, hosting the Tony Awards…he’s cooperative and humble. Everyone loves him. I met his mother. I congratulated her on doing a great job raising him, and she said she had nothing to do with it – she left the family when he was a child. She was amazingly honest – which I think her son is as well. I have a lot of respect for them.

      • And having an excellent agent and manager helps, too! 🙂

  4. kelbel75 says:

    you girls are so evil. *shakes head disapprovingly* how can I possibly do anything else, now that I know that Tumblr exists? especially after I admitted that I just can’t say NO! ugh!

  5. Servetus says:

    My blog is one long recital of my inability to say “no” 🙂

  6. obscura says:

    Resistance is futile 🙂

Leave a comment