Richard Armitage = Matthew Clairmont

There has been so much talk lately about Richard Armitage as Batman. I am happy that he is being considered for such a popular role, I am hoping he doesn’t get it. I would much prefer him to get a role like that of Matthew Clairmont in the film of the book A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. Even though Matthew is a vampire, he is so much more than the stereotypical vampire. He is a complex being who has lived a very long time, in many different guises. Always passionate, always brilliant, always alluring. Matthew is a respected commander, who has led an powerful organization over the centuries.

Armitage4clairmont eyes

It’s too bad that Matthew is a vampire, but he is so charismatic and powerful, vulnerable and untouchable, I would love to see Richard Armitage play this role. Okay, I guess it’s six of one, half a dozen of another in relation to Batman. They are both genre roles. Superhero vs. Vampire. I guess I would like to see him play a more romantic character than an action hero.

The Armitage4Clairmont people have made a series of videos hoping to get Warner Brothers to consider Richard Armitage for the role. I think they are brilliant.

Richard Armitage IS Matthew Clairmont.

Videos from youtube.

 

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Richard Armitage = Matthew Clairmont

  1. kelbel75 says:

    and what is wrong with vampires? I went through a very strong “Lestat” phase, back in the day 😉 I’m not familiar with this book/character, but it sounds intriguing!

  2. Marie Astra says:

    Loved Lestat! A Discovery of Witches is a very different kind of story than the Ann Rice vampires. More about witches than vampires. Not a GREAT book, but lots of good storytelling. Matthew Clairmont is a wonderful character. I can def see RA playing him.

  3. You know, Richard Armitage could tackle each role in turn–Batman and then Matthew Clairmont, or vice versa. He could even wear the same cape. Ha!

    Seriously though, I’ll have to look into the Discovery of Witches book now that so many of my online friends are recommending it. Cheers!

    • Marie Astra says:

      That would be great if he did both. I’m only saying that because I’ve read up on Batman movie a bit and it does sound intriguing. Hope you like Discovery of Witches if you read it. Some have NOT. LOL Thanks for the comment. 🙂

      • kelbel75 says:

        what is the Batman movie going to be about? I can’t imagine why he and superman would be adversaries *scratches head*

      • Marie Astra says:

        It’s based on this comic where Batman is a veteran crime fighter and Superman is a fresh-faced beginner working for some bad guys in Washington.LOL Sounds interesting!

  4. Pingback: BEEN THERE-DONE THAT – RICHARD ARMITAGE HAS THE C.V. FOR BATMAN | Armitage Agonistes

  5. Pingback: Anglo American Pictures | You want who for Batman?

  6. Pingback: Batman, Batman, Batman? or: Would I follow Richard Armitage to another comic book role? | Me + Richard Armitage

  7. Hi, I don’t know how I missed this post. I htought I was following you on bloglovin, but I had better check.

    This is a great post. I agree that RA should be Matthew Clairmont. i LOVE the books!!! I never thought I would love these types of books. Kudos to Deborah Harkness for being able to pull me in. I love her writing.

    I see batman as more of a comic book crime fighter superhero character. I don’t see Matthew Clairmont that way, so personally, I do not see the two films in the same genre. That does not mean that I am right. I could be totally wrong on that front. Matthew is not a crime fighter, although he has done battle. The storyline of the All Souls Trilogy is more about discovering the origins of species, with some spiritual messages, history lessons, love, romance and intrigue thrown in.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Yes I agree they are totally different roles, although both in that “sci-fi” world. Vampires, witches, superheroes…hobbits, dwarves!! Even though Batman is a comic book character, he does have some depth. Depends what they do with the script. I just hate to see him in another role where his main activity is fighting. 😦

  8. Btw, I love your blog banner photo. Every time I look at it I wish I could walk right into it.

  9. Pingback: Richard: an inspiration, an encourager, a hero | the armitage effect

  10. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 91: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  11. LostinaGoodbook says:

    I would prefer Batman to Matthew Clairmont, but there is one respect in which RA would be well fitted to the role – he does yoga. I can’t tell you how much I would love to see a vampire yoga class. It would be hilarious. And I suspect I speak for most of us when I say I would love to see Richard’s downward dog 🙂

  12. kelbel75 says:

    I’m currently reading “a discovery of witches” because of this post…and I am LOVING it!! if Richard were to play Matthew? Gah! I would melt into a big puddle of goo! seriously though, I am loving the story, all the history and origin of the species stuff, plus I do like vampires to begin with, so there’s that 🙂

Leave a Reply

