The Summer of The Crucible: A Personal Fandom Wrap-up

RA Crucible Autograph

Yes, The Crucible is over. Above is my souvenir of my fandom experience of seeing the play and going to the Stage Door.

I can’t quite believe this massive RICHARD ARMITAGE FANDOM experience is over! All summer long we knew where “our man” was and could go see him if we had the means and time. Wow. That’s not likely to happen anytime again soon. I am so grateful that I got to see it once. Those who were fortunate to see it more than once, well, okay.

There’s been a lot of chatter about “how many” times someone went to see the play. Sorry to be boring, but my frame of reference is of course seeing Hugh Jackman in The Boy from Oz. I went to see it 15 times. It was over the course of a YEAR of course, not 3 months!! Everything is relative! Still it was A LOT! The other thing is that TBOZ was a musical, not an intense drama. It was FUN. Hardly what you could call The Crucible!! Watching someone spill their guts several times in a week, versus watching someone play a sexy entertainer? No contest. I’d go for the sexy entertainer. Not sure I could endure watching The Crucible multiple times in a row. But that’s just me. Which brings me to my next point.

JP at the end my namee

“Judge not, lest ye be judged.” How many times someone went to see the play is a matter for them to determine. None of us has the right to judge. Our experience of a theatrical event is personal. We don’t know why someone was so obsessed with a play that they needed to see it so many times. And “what’s normal for a fan”, indeed. There is no “normal”. We all have our own reasons. Is more than once “obsessive”? Is FOUR times? Is EIGHT times? Who can judge??

The thing I objected to was the weirdness about being truthful about going to see the show. Some people seemed very reluctant to be honest about how many times they were going to see the show. Why? Who cares? Go see it as many times as you want. The weirdness to me comes from being secretive. As if you were being “special” by seeing it so many times. None of us is special. Maybe The Anglophile Channel. LOL! Marlise is clearly a “special” fan because she can communicate with RA and help him get his messages out to us. Bravo!! (P.S. I think she only saw TC once?)

the prosecurtors

John & his wife

I also want to give a shout out to the ensemble of The Crucible. I thought they were all exceptional. Richard Armitage, while being the headliner and having the Stage Door folks all queued for him, was really part of an ensemble. I was very happy to see the RA fandom acknowledging their appreciation to all the members of The Crucible ensemble, as well as to Yael Farber and all the supporting behind the scenes participants. YAY!!

What’s next for RA fandom? Who knows? The only sure thing is the publicity tour for The Battle of Five Armies. Then the premieres. NYC December 8th! Will I go?? <sigh> Not sure at this time. Check back later. 😀

Thank you, thank you, thank you, to all the RA fans who shared their experiences of the play, the Stage Door, and their adventures to London. I hope we hang on to that shared fandom and don’t start our internal dispute nonsense now. Richard Armitage did a masterful job in interpreting an iconic role for the stage. He has something very much to be proud of coming out of this experience. Let’s all be proud of that, and wait for his next amazing career experience to reveal itself. Hope you get a little rest, Richard, and continue to amaze us!

Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 1.24.32 PM

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Summer of The Crucible: A Personal Fandom Wrap-up

  1. kelbel75 says:

    just like you said, each person has their own reasons for doing the things that they do, just as each person has their reasons for sharing/not sharing their experiences and when. it’s not a competition, though some of the Stage Door recounts seem to be forgetting that :/ as someone who saw the Crucible zero times and has never come face to face w/Richard: I hate you all. (kidding! LOL! 😀 )

    • UK Expat says:

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Thanks for that last bit of brutal honesty, kelbel!! *wiping tears of laughter away*. It’s always a treat to read such an unexpectedly honest and refreshing articulation of one’s feelings!! 😉

    • NYCPAT says:

      hear ye, hear ye! Yes. It’s all relative. We all have our reasons. Still, I have my reasons for disliking those who are secretive. 😀 😀

  2. This is a very interesting post. There is weirdness all around when it comes to Richard Armitage. I started out as an over the top near obsessed fan too after watching North and South for the first time in 2012. I spent huge amounts of time online seeking out anything even remotely connected to RA. As time went by I simply slipped back into moving forward with my own life. It is a person’s free will right to obsessi over him for years on end, but that does not stop me from wondering why anyone would do that to themselves. Compared to a lot of his fans, my obsession did not last long at all.

    I agree with you about going to see a play like The Crucible multiple times. Something like that is way too deep and serious for me to sit through more than once. I did see the play Dreamgirls about a dozens times many years ago, but that was a highly entertaining play with lots of singing and upbeat music. Not even for RA would I see TC more than once. I have not even seen the second Hobbit movie and have no intentions on seeing it because of the violence level. That I cannot deal with, not even for RA. There are movies that I have gone to see multiple times, such as Titanic. I was enchanted with the love story aspect of it.

    Peace!

  3. linnetmoss says:

    I agree with “to each her own way of doing things.” There is no such thing as “weird” (unless one is crossing the line into stalker behavior, of course). Maybe the people who didn’t want to say how many times they saw it were embarrassed because they thought multiple viewings were “weird”? That’s certainly what I thought when I first entered the world of fandom. I would have been ashamed to admit going to see something three times just for an actor. Then my perspective changed. I saw a real aesthetic benefit to multiple viewings, and I also became more accepting and less judgmental about my own feelings.

    • NYCPAT says:

      Just because we’re all fans of the same person doesn’t mean we are all the same. We don’t lose our personalities. We might not like or agree with everyone in the fandom. It’s great when you meet people you do like though! 😃 Thanks for your comment!

  4. Meryl Butler says:

    Great review, echoes a lot of my thoughts, thanks for sharing.

  5. ajdaisy says:

    I agree with everything that you have said. I went to see TC early on in the summer we went to a matinee so didn’t get to meet Richard. That’s fine because essentially we went to Richard in the play and was blown away by the whole thing. But just to be in the same room as Richard and only three rows back was everything to me and something that will live with me forever.

Leave a Reply

