Hugh Jackman: The River. Yes, I Gave Up

So, I bought a ticket to see Hugh Jackman in The River on Broadway.

THE-RIVER-logo1

“A remote fishing cabin, a man and a woman, and a moonless night. THE RIVER asks: when we find each other, are we trying to recapture someone we once lost?”

My only interest in seeing this is Hugh Jackman. (No surprise to anyone who reads my blog!) However, I did see Jez Butterworth’s “Jerusalem” production on Broadway with Mark Rylance. I wasn’t that impressed with the play itself, but was wowed by Mark Rylance. I’ve seen him in a few different plays now, and he is always a WOW!

HJ River

I’ve seen Hugh Jackman in more that a few things. I’ve seen him in every Broadway play he’s done – The Boy from Oz (15 times!), A Steady Rain with Daniel Craig (just 3 times), and Back On Broadway ( 2 times). Also saw him in Carousel in concert (on bootleg video). So how was I really not going to see him in The River?

Well, when I first looked I found tickets for the shows I wanted to see at $250 a seat! I decided to decline. Thinking about it recently, having seen Richard Armitage in The Crucible and spent thousands just for the privilege (money well spent), I thought to myself that a couple hundred to see Hugh Jackman wasn’t excessive. So I bought a ticket for the matinee of November 1, which is the second show of the run. It starts previews on October 31. <sigh> I hope I hate it and don’t want to spend a lot lot more seeing it more and more times. What do you think?

swordfish-13aWell, I wonder if he takes his shirt off in The River??

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hugh Jackman: The River. Yes, I Gave Up

  1. Herba says:

    Awww, I envy you for seeing ‘The Boy from Oz’ and ‘A Steady Rain’. Hugh Jackman seems to be such a nice guy and he is for sure a talented actor. It must be a bliss to watch him live on stage.
    Have fun!

  2. linnetmoss says:

    Very envious! Agree with you totally re Mark Rylance, but also think anything by Butterworth is worthy πŸ™‚ I would LOVE to see Jackman and think he’s gorgeous… have a great time and thanks for the shirtless Jackman photo!

    • NYCPAT says:

      Happy to oblige! πŸ˜€ Jackman is in his natural element on stage. Whatever you see of him on film is nothing like what he is like in person. Pow! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

      • linnetmoss says:

        Oh man. I guess I’ll just have to hope for another chance to see him. He was on Broadway once when the Long Suffering Husband and I were there, but I chose something else and have been regretting it ever since. I think it was the “Hugh Jackman” show.

      • NYCPAT says:

        Back on Broadway. All about Hugh. That’s what I mean about how different HJ and RA are. LOL!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Have followed HJ since his “Paperback Hero” movie days. By now I probably have seen every movie in which he has appeared…even for just a short time! My favorite is “Kate and Leopold.” A friend helped me to get a ticket for the Bway “The Man from Oz,” in which Jackman put on a fantastic performance. I saw the Hugh Jackman show on Bway as well (sweet!), but couldn’t afford the “Steady Rain.” Sure I’d like to see “The River,” but not for $250. If I can get less expensive seats, I won’t sit farther away than the lower mezzanine/orchestra.

  4. UK Expat says:

    I hope for your pocketbook, that you DO absolutely HATE IT – although I think there’s low probability of that happening! Given Jackman’s theatre and live performance talents, I find it ironic that he is also known as such an international action film star (yeah X-Men, we’re looking at you)! πŸ˜‰

    I wasn’t much of a theatre-goer before moving to London. I think the pricing structure you list above is a part of that reason (insofar as NYC theatre pricing is cost prohibitive). I truly believe that theatre is a part of the national identity of England – and as a result, there is a concerted effort on the part of the government and theatre venues here to make it available to all (for a reasonable cost). I just saw Gillian Anderson on Friday night @ the Young Vic in Tennessee Williams’s A Streetcar Named Desire for GBP 20 (others, sitting next to me in the front row, had been allocated their ticket by the Young Vic for GBP 10!!) Anderson’s performance as Blanche Dubois was another WOW! (I’d never even known her acting history outside of TV’s The X-Files from the ’90s).

    So I’m looking forward to reading your impressions of The River once you’ve finally seen it!!

    • NYCPAT says:

      Wow. Great prices. I just realized I’ve actually spent MORE on tix for other shows than HJ’s The River! Prices are obscene on Bway. If I fall in love with The River & want to see it more…..there goes my retirement savings! Just kidding. Won’t do that!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

