London Calling Part 4: My trip to London!

tubemap-2012-12

I had a great time in London. A really fantastic time.

As soon as I was in the car driving to the hotel, looking around at the London streets, I felt an onrush of Anglophilia. Bookstores, theaters, Indian restaurants, a cinema advertising a special presentation of the premiere of the new Doctor Who show. Charming residential areas. I felt a big smile creep across my face. And somewhere nearby, Richard Armitage was preparing to go on stage at the Old Vic.  I would be meeting two of my twitter friends for the first time. I was very happy.

When I got to the hotel in Camden Town, there was my friend! YAY! I immediately felt as comfortable sitting and chatting with her as if we were friends all our lives. I felt the same with my other friend when she returned from an evening at the theater. We made our plans for the next day. Instead of running around London sightseeing we opted for a day spent on the Regents Canal and Camden Lock, which was right outside the hotel.

IMG_0197

IMG_0203

The Canal trip was heaven. It was a lovely summer day. Just perfect – not too hot or humid. We drifted along the canal, enjoying the lovely scenery and waving to other boating parties floating along.

IMG_0298

IMG_0302

Then back to Camden Lock to pick up lunch and shop at the many stalls there.

IMG_0317

IMG_0263

 

IMG_0237                       IMG_0208 IMG_0262     IMG_0273

Then, back to the hotel to change for the theater.

IMG_0334

I made it! Here’s the lobby, where you can buy programs and posters.

I wrote about The Crucible HERE. The Stage Door Experience was not great. When I failed to capture RA’s attention for a picture, I followed along behind him as he worked the SD queue. Could I get a moment? My friends were trying to catch his attention as well to give him the presents they brought. No luck. Tried to get pics of him. No luck. He got almost to the end of the line and then turned and said Thank You and went back to the theater. <sigh>. No pictures.

Here’s the truth. I wasn’t upset that I didn’t get a picture with RA. I was unhappy with myself for trying. I, me, myself, didn’t care if I got a picture with him. And yet, I followed behind him like a lunatic, trying to get his attention for a picture! EWWW! It was solely to have something to bring back to my pals online, many of whom had gotten pics taken with him. I “should” have a picture with him, right? Sad sad sad.

At the end of the day, I got a lovely autograph on my program. I got a “thank you” for the book I gave him. That’s it. And it’s enough. Marie no longer cares about scrambling for Richard Armitage’s attention. If the time ever came that I could have a convo with RA, that would be nice. Really really nice. But scrabbling along after him on a Stage Door line, or Premiere gathering – nahh, not happening again for me. I was not successful and I don’t even care.

Writing this blog post made me realize that “I” am not “Marie”. I am Pat. Hi!! Hope you continue to read my blog!! 😀 😀

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to London Calling Part 4: My trip to London!

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I’ve always preferred making memories, than taking pictures. pictures are nice but if I miss the memory in order to get them, then what’s the point? you shouldn’t have to prove to anyone that you were really where you said you were. if they don’t believe you, then it’s their loss, because you have the memory 🙂

    • NYCPAT says:

      I dunno, somehow the pic with RA at the SD has become a badge of honor in the AArmy, somehow. Not getting one…not a disgrace, really, but sad. Oh well. Like you said…memories!! 😀 😀

  2. Bollyknickers says:

    First of all- nice pictures. You made London look all clean. Looks like you had good weather.

    I’m interested in your feeling that getting a photo with RA is seen as a badge of honour now. Do you think so? It sounds like the SD thing is a bit crazy and maybe people do things they wouldn’t normally consider – it sounds like you feel some regret which I think is quite a normal emotion for a lot of people thrown into that circumstance. I guess we all process things differently and whilst you are wondering what the heck happened, others might just laugh it off.

    I have to say that as someone who had absolutely no chance of going to TC, I have wondered how I would have approached it. I have little desire to meet RA ( except in an ‘equal’ circumstance – like a coffee shop) and as someone who hates 95% of photos I’m in, the idea of being in a photo with someone who is so darned attractive and rarely takes a bad photo is very intimidating! What if I looked like the back end of a bus in it? But could I have walked away from the Old Vic without doing the SD? It’s a dilemma I am kind of glad to have avoided.

    • NYCPAT says:

      The problem with SD is there’s no time. You either hit it or you don’t. When you don’t and you read about those who did…yeah, I did feel bad. It’s disappointing. But what can you do? It’s the way it is. Thanks for commenting!

  3. linnetmoss says:

    I would say a personally signed autograph is pretty cool. The first time I went to see my guy, he didn’t even come out the stage door because it was a matinée. I was so upset that I wanted to cry. The disappointment was so hard to deal with (I was in the first phase of infatuated fandom!). But then I realized that I had just watched him onstage for two hours and what a gift that was.

  4. linnetmoss says:

    BTW I love your photos of the Camden area! If only I could take that trip down the canal… perfect weather, too.

Leave a Reply

