MARIE is Gone! PAT is here now!

How weird is that? I have given up my alter-ego Marie Astra to become my real blogging self, Pat S. or nycpat838@gmail.com.

WEIRD!       shock

 

I looked at myself on the Stage Door queue for The Crucible and realized that Marie was weird, but Pat, as myself, an admitted Richard Armitage fan, was not weird, was, in fact, a person who was an admirer of Richard Armitage, but a person INCLUSIVE OF that identity.

Therefore I have decided to delete MarieAstra and take back myself. A REAL person who is an admirer of Richard Armitage for sure, but who has also been obsessive about LOTS of other things, not just RA!! And, who, hopefully, will continue to be obsessed by things other than RA!

My anger at another blogger who took a position and then secretly went back against that position was a fabulous catapult to this decision. I realized that I cannot be two people – fan and real self. I have to be me. So, thank you, Servetus!!

And THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to all my friends who have followed me on this journey!! I love you all, truly!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to MARIE is Gone! PAT is here now!

  1. KatharineD says:

    Hello Pat, very nice to meet you! It’s going to feel weird calling you by a different name, but congrats for coming out from behind the veil and introducing yourself to us.

    • NYCPAT says:

      Thanks, Katharine! I know it must be weird to you who have always been yourself, but I am glad you accept that I was a bit weird in the past. 😀

      • KatharineD says:

        Well, we all have variations of our name, don’t we? – nicknames, abbreviations, and we all only reveal what we’re comfortable letting others know about ourselves, so maybe ‘weird’ wasn’t the right word to use, more like ‘unfamiliar’.
        Regardless of all that, I’m very pleased the blog will continue on.

      • NYCPAT says:

        Thanks!! 😀 😀

  2. armitagedme says:

    Oh hi! It doesn’t really matter what you are called, you are still a lovely person 🙂

  3. linnetmoss says:

    “Linnet” is my alter ego, but I don’t feel weird about it. I need to keep some aspects of myself private from the online world, and being Linnet is the only way I can express others. That said, I am glad that you have found a way to keep being a fan and a member of the fan community, one that works for you.

  4. kelbel75 says:

    there are different reasons why fans choose to go by their real names or not; I understand and accept those reasons. I’ve never really been able to keep two names straight for myself though, let alone two personas :/ there are a lot of Kellys in the online world, so that’s why I go by a childhood nickname…but then I have most people call me Kelly anyways 😛 if it’s meaningful for you to go by your real name then I applaud you for it. it’s about how you see yourself and how the name makes you feel, above all else. and now I don’t have to worry about which name for you to use where, either 😉

  5. I find being myself to be much better. Congratulations.

  6. Dexy says:

    I think you have made ABSOLUTELY the right decision.
    Never mind about a.n.other ..
    Cripplingly insecure.

Leave a Reply

