London Calling Marie – Part 1, In Which Marie Sees Richard Armitage Again!

I am a very lucky fan of Richard Armitage. Saturday, 23 August, was the FOURTH time I got to see him in Real Life. Wow. That means a lot to a well-wisher of the man. Some of us will never get to see him “in the flesh”, as they say. And yet, I’ve managed to see him four times. Each time exciting, but always with a little bit of disappointment thrown in. I am starting my report on my London Weekend with a look back, to put it all in perspective. There are so many layers and thoughts to share about the weekend. First, traveling to London for such a short visit, with all the difficulties that involves. Second, meeting Twitter friends I met through the RA fandom. Third, seeing The Crucible. Fourth, a fangurl seeing Richard Armitage.

HobbitLiveEvent_61

So let’s start with a perspective on seeing Richard Armitage in person four times. The first was The Hobbit Live Event (above). I sat in the second row. That is my blonde head right in front of The Hobbit poster. What an opportunity! Yet, I couldn’t get over how thin and tired he looked. Plus no opportunity to interact.

RA as Swann w Odette

The second was the Pinter/Proust play at the 92nd St. Y in NYC. Saw him onstage, but missed out on the fan interaction afterwards.

IMG_0081

The third was the Into the Storm Premiere, held in New York City. Just a brief sighting before and after he went into the theater. I did get an autograph, and some nice pictures of him signing autographs. Problem was that it was SO brief! Am I a bad person for feeling that way??

RA Crucible Autograph

And the fourth sighting was seeing The Crucible on Saturday. Above is the evidence of my encounter – an autograph on a lovely photo in the programme. Also, I did get to give him a book I’d brought for him and he said, “Thank you!”.

Whew! Am I lucky, or what?

I have lots more to say on that subject in Part Two.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to London Calling Marie – Part 1, In Which Marie Sees Richard Armitage Again!

  1. armitagebesotted says:

    Such a tease! Damn that jet lag. Keep writing and tell us more!

  2. kelbel75 says:

    you’re such a tease!

  3. guylty says:

    Brilliant. Glad to hear you got back! And looking forward to reading more!!!

  4. omg! ASDLKJFDLSKFJ;ASDLFKJSA;DFJ! Love these pics & eager to read part 2.

  5. fedoralady says:

    You lucky duck!! I actually read part 2 first . . . *giggle*

  6. Mezz says:

    Thank you for sharing! Four times – you lucky thing! Like Angie, I read part 2 first (sent over from Twitter)….oh…my…word………

  7. saraobsessed says:

    I also read part 2 first lol. And I think your blonde head is blocking my blond highlighted head at the NYC Fan Event. (I think we were kitty corner.) Sending you hugs.

  8. Anna says:

    Wonderful, you saw those NYC events… I would have really wanted to be there and yes, it’s disappointing when meetings are so brief. It’s only normal to feel like that. By the way, I am also a ‘4’ in the Armitage fandom 😉 It’s a great luck!

Leave a Reply

