Countdown to RA! 4 Sleeps!!

Dude!

Tuesday night, Wednesday night, Thursday night, Friday night…and Saturday night I will see him!! Meanwhile Friday I will see my friends Ann and Michaela, which is just as good to me. And I will see LONDON! For the first time in more years than I care to count. I went to London, my dream city, with 3 of my high school friends after we graduated and were in college. It was a cherished dream of ours, all Anglophiles, to visit our spiritual homeland, England.

london-1024x612

 

Unlike this trip, I spent two weeks in London. Unlike the two days I’ll have this time. Travel Friday and Monday. Sightseeing and RA-seeing on Saturday. Exploring the city on Sunday. I am incredibly grateful. And time with my two new friends as well as seeing RA. What riches!!

I’ll tell you a secret – I hate air travel. I am terrified, but determined. I will not give in to my fear of flight. Turbulence makes me convert to every religion I ever heard of. I’ll pray to any god to save me! I remember Guylty describing her focussing  on RA when she was in some bad turbulence! I will think on that while I’m traveling as well!!

RA as Swann

 

 

 

 

Richard Armitage as Swann in Pinter/Proust

I watched Richard Armitage on stage once before, in the Pinter/Proust production performed at the 92nd St. Y in NYC. He is an amazing presence on stage. He is centered, focussed, still. He holds your attention. He didn’t rage and storm the way John Proctor reportedly does. And yet I couldn’t look away from him.

I can’t wait until Saturday, when I will see him embody John Proctor.

I saw my 21 year old niece, English major at Boston University, on Saturday. I told her about my trip to London and what I am going to see. She said, “He’s playing John Proctor, right? He’s the sexy one!! ” LOL!  Yes, he is.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Countdown to RA! 4 Sleeps!!

  1. guylty says:

    I totally get your excitement, Marie. London is just invigourating. Exciting. Inspiring. Enjoy the whole experience, with the play as the climax of it all. The weather is still set to be nice, with sun and mild temperatures. And yeah, I recommend flying Armitage Airways. On-board entertainment programme is stunning, turbulence or not. 😀

  2. april73 says:

    Enjoy the play and the city. I love London, it’s a great and beautiful city. I’ve been there about 15 times since 20 years. 🙂

  3. WithTongues says:

    I, too, dislike flying but it’s the best way to get from point A to point Richard 🙂 Have a fabulous weekend – His birthday!! – and enjoy the beautiful, once in a lifetime opportunity to see Him in His Play. Carpe diem. Carpe RA.

  4. armitagebesotted says:

    I will be with you in spirit!

Leave a Reply

