Being a Fan

Porter from Tumblr

John Porter as portrayed on Tumblr

I recently had a conversation with one of my best friends about fandom. Her 12 year old daughter has been really anxious to see this blog, because she can’t believe her old auntie would be writing a blog! She doesn’t believe that anyone over 30 could understand social media! <GASP>

So recently, my friend showed her my blog. Daughter was confused. “It’s all about this GUY?? All about the same GUY??” Yes, my friend told her, it’s all about this one actor. (Which isn’t true! I maintain adamantly!) Anyway, daughter says, “Auntie is crazy”.

So there you go. To a pre-teen, my obsession with Richard Armitage is “crazy”. LOL!! I’m sure my little friend is not alone in making that judgement!! Happily, I’m not influenced by those who hold those opinions, and will happily continue pursuing my chosen fandom!

ra canadian ITS

<sigh>

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being a Fan

  1. Well, at least she didn’t ask you if you drove a chariot to reduce your carbon foot print. Ha! Family joke.

  2. linnetmoss says:

    Those photos. GASP. Can’t decide which one I like better.

  3. kelbel75 says:

    children just don’t understand. neither do parents, for that matter. they already think I’m weird, so this is just one more quirky thing about me 🙂

  4. armitagebesotted says:

    One day, decades from now, when she’s middle-aged and bored, she’ll remember you and THEN you’ll be the role model for how to make your own life interesting.

Leave a Reply

