Waiting for Richard

tumblr_n8rxyfJDOR1s2xpf7o3_500

It’s been a while since I wrote anything here, and I am feeling like I really want to share what’s been happening. I must be getting into this blog writing thing! I never considered myself a writer, but I have enjoyed sharing my thoughts and feelings here.

I have been “obsessed” these last weeks over many things, the first being the sale of my house in New Jersey. Praise the Lord, the house was sold on Friday and I am now happily burrowed into my former home, an apartment in the East Village of Manhattan, NYC! It took a lot of blood, sweat and tears to get this done, but luckily no permanent damage was done! Anyone who has had the blissful (not) experience of selling a house will, I’m sure understand!!

This weekend some of my friends went to see The Crucible. I will be going to see it with them in August. Others of my friends saw it in June and earlier this month. As I hear their stories of how incredibly impressive the play is, and how unforgettable their experiences of a brief encounter at the stage door with Richard Armitage was, I am champing at the bit waiting for my turn to *fingers crossed* hopefully have my own brief encounter with the man in August.

The Crucible - After Party

Well, my brief encounter with Richard Armitage won’t look this good, for sure!!

One possibility is keeping me excited that I won’t have to wait until the end of August to see the man in Real Life. Into the Storm, the tornado movie starring Richard Armitage, will be having it’s premiere in New York City on August 4th. I am hoping to be able to do the fangurl, red carpet silliness then, and possibly spot RA in the flesh one more time before going to London at the end of the month. Yay!!

In preparation for London, I have been, as is understandable for an obsessive fan, continually scripting my stage door encounter with Richard. Should I say..this? Or…this? Haha! Smile, laugh, say something funny! Make him say awww, bless you, or make him laugh? I should be so lucky! This will keep me entertained for weeks to come. Not complaining!

tumblr_mnkavtbbMM1rp382io4_250

What can you do??

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Waiting for Richard

  1. hello lovely Marie! Congrats for your selling/moving ! I am thrilled for you! I can’t wait to read your comments on my TL … and possibly a picture! Meeting Richard is a very intense experience…you know what I mean just before and after you see him! He is truly lovely, sometimes he’s smiley, sometimes he’s serious, but he does his best to make everybody happy. What should you say?? whatever comes from your heart in that moment.. As you know, I managed to congratulate with him only at our 5/6th encounters… You never know how the meeting will be like. Best thing is not to have expectations , but enjoy the moment…whatever it comes. You are a stage door after all!
    Also remember to decide if you want an autograph, photo… or both,,,and ASK! Grab him ! 😉
    Good Luck!!
    Valentina xxx

  2. I did and the lovely girls I met made it very special! And Richard is so wonderful…it will be overwhelming ….awwwwwwwww I’m so excited for you! What a shame I can’t meet up with you in August! xx

  3. kelbel75 says:

    two possible encounters with Richard…and “daydream planning” in overdrive, LOL! you better go refresh yourself with my Stage Door Dos and Don’ts 😉 seriously though, I am very happy you no longer have the stress of selling your house on your shoulders and now you have these two very exciting things to look forward to! just so you know, I’ll be living through you, so don’t screw it up for us. no pressure. ( 😀 )

  4. armitagebesotted says:

    Do your homework, girl. If you’ve been too busy to keep up with the nightly stage door experiences on the blogs, catch up now. (Check Servetus’ old posts which are an index of sorts.) They are a thoroughly enjoyable mix of the gushy dreaminess we all live for (“He looked at me…”) and practical advice, e.g. if you want a photo and a signature, get the photo first, because he will walk away from you after signing something. Also, find “the shirtless” story somewhere. It is priceless.

  5. WithTongues says:

    I would take a lesson from The Man Himself who stands quietly in a zen state amidst all the craziness around him. When it is your turn to grace his presence – and you will, pretty, gentle lady – smile your sweetest smile, make (force!) eye contact and politely ask him if you can take his picture…all the while gently but firmly putting your arm around his 32″ waist and pulling him close. Remember the zen thing: no tackling him to the ground. A little hip/thigh contact is OK. Focus on what you came to see – face, perhaps? Chest? Nothing lower – rude! Breath deeply and remember to describe for us in better detail why he smells so yummy. Enjoy the moment – make it last. Remember he can’t leave until you let him go – tee hee!

    • Marie Astra says:

      OMG! I love you, K.! I so needed this after a grueling week at work. I laughed and laughed! Whoa! Putting my arm “gently but firmly around his 32″ waist”? Do you write fan fiction?? 😀 😀 Because I’d read it!! 😀 😀 Hip/thigh contact?? If only!! 😀 😀

      Sadly, in the Real World, my brain freezes when in the presence of The Man. I may have testified in front of Congress, (and flirted/bantered with a Senator!) but faced with RA? Eeeeks!!

      I do have a plan. Give him a present, ask for a photo, shove something in front of him for an autograph. That’s the plan. Hahahahahaha

      • WithTongues says:

        I sympathize. How can your poor brain help itself in His presence?? Stiff upper lip is in order here! It almost happened to me at the premiere; but once I realized he was about to step out of my range, my mouth loosened up and I called out to him my carefully planned/rehearsed comment – and he looked up at me *thud* Carpe diem! Carpe RA! Have a fabulous trip however it goes!!

      • Marie Astra says:

        Aww, thank you so much! I guess it will be one of those “in the moment” things!! 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

