I’m Going to London!!

crucilble JP

Richard Armitage as John Proctor in The Crucible

When it was announced that Richard Armitage was going to star in a London production of The Crucible by Arthur Miller, I was incredibly excited. I assumed I would be able to go see him – London isn’t so far away. The timing though, turned out to be bad for me, because I am moving in July and have a lot of expenses. So spending a couple of thousand dollars just to go see Richard Armitage in a play didn’t seem like a good idea.

Val w poster

Well, I am someone who loves theater. I regularly go to Broadway to see shows that interest me. I am looking forward to seeing more NYC theater once my move is complete and I am living in NYC once again. Anyway, I decided that I would go to London. Plus I thought, wow, I can meet up with some Armitage fans who are also traveling to London to see the show. So I bought a ticket to the show and then started looking for flights and hotels. YIKES! I was horrified! The prices were astronomical!! So I decided not to go.

John proctor pleading

Then, The Crucible began previews. The reports came in. Intense, amazing, overwhelming. Then Richard decided to see all the fans who waited at the Stage Door. Oh my goodness. Could I pass this opportunity up? Well, dear readers, no. I couldn’t. Therefore I WILL be going to London in August to see The Crucible and to meet up with some dear friends. I am incredibly excited!!

John Proctor Abigail and girl in bed

Well, maybe not THAT excited!

 

My seat is front row. I am a little scared at being so close to the action. Normally I hate front row seats, but for this production, I think it will make it most exciting.

I can’t say I have any great knowledge of Arthur Miller, or the McCarthy hearings on which the play is based. I know a little bit about Salem and the witch hunts from my visit to Salem, which I wrote about previously. I have read the play and seen the Daniel Day Lewis version in the film. The pictures I have seen thus far of Richard Armitage as John Proctor look nothing like what I imagined from seeing those. He looks more intense, more emotional, more knowing than anything I imagined before. I think the Director of this play Yael Farber, knows what she is doing. And I can’t wait to see what she has cooked up.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I’m Going to London!!

  1. Teuchter says:

    I’m thrilled to bits at your news. I’m sure it will be a magical experience and you will be so happy you took the plunge! Have a blast when the time comes!! 😉

  2. KatharineD says:

    Good for you, Marie- I’m really pleased for you! Hopefully, fingers crossed, this time you’ll get to meet Mr A, especially after the disappointment you felt at your last aborted opportunity.

  3. Bollyknickers says:

    I am thrilled for you, Marie.

    It is clear from your blog that you are a theatre lover as well as a fan of the lovely Mr A so I can’t think of anyone I would rather see in the front row of this production ( apart from me, that is, but that ain’t gonna happen!)

  4. linnetmoss says:

    Hooray for you! And lucky you to be moving to NYC–just about the best theater scene on the globe.

  5. UK Expat says:

    Congratulation on taking the first steps toward experiencing The Crucible in person!! You won’t regret this entire theatrical experience. And front row seats at an Old Vic in the round production is its own surreal and worthwhile adventure.

    August is still somewhat peak season for holiday travel to the UK (flights and hotels) and additionally, the Bank of England has been signaling an earlier tightening stance in rates for their monetary policy. So depending on the relative US stance, this sets an expectation of higher GBP to USD exchange rates (currently 1.70), which unfortunately, works to your disadvantage as a USD consumer of GBP goods & services. 😦

    • Marie Astra says:

      Yes. Keeping my visit short so I don’t spend more than necessary! Still I think it will be worth it!

      • UK Expat says:

        It will DEFINITELY be worth it for you!!! The Stage Door experience (to date) has also been extremely low key and well-ordered… so it would be an EXCELLENT opportunity for you to meet and get photo with Armitage, if this is something you desire. 🙂

      • Marie Astra says:

        I definitely want to meet, but have to force myself to do the picture thing. I am totally amazed at the stage door experience as handled by Mr. A. Wow. Very impressive.

  6. Perry says:

    Good for You! Who can say? But I think this is right decision for you. It will all work out. Can;t wait to hear about it. ( The play, too, Marie, please) 🙂

    • Marie Astra says:

      Heehee! Yes, you know me too well, Perry! I will try to take my eyes off Mr. A and pay attention to the production. From what I hear it won’t be a hard to do. I am truly looking forward to meeting up with some friends too. That will be fun!

  7. ajdaisy says:

    WOW I’am so glad you are going. I went yesterday It was amazing. Brilliant production wonderful cast and Richard was awesome. We were so close to him my tummy kept doing somersalts didn’t get a chance to meet him as it was the matinee & we had a train to catch. But just to see him in the flesh (so to speak) was tremendous. He is such an intense actor take your tissues you will need them he made me cry at the end. On a shallow note (lol) this man is so handsome he takes your breath away. Enjoy yourself

    • Marie Astra says:

      OMG! Thanks for your comment! Yes tummy somersaults! Can’t wait! Reading the Director’s thoughts about the production really puts it in perspective and makes the thought of the whole production so exciting to think about. Glad you got to see it. Can’t wait!!

  8. Christine says:

    OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG——- I’m so excited for you!!!! Well done, you. I’m also jealous. And you make me tempted. lol But I can’t, I really just can’t. So you’re going to have to take one breath, just one, for me during the show, if you remember, and if you don’t mind. Just one blessed, beautiful breath of that air, charged with the sacred energy of performance. :} And taste it, and smile, and let it go. (sigh) I’m smiling *ear to ear* just thinking about you in the front row. Lovely. ❤

    • Marie Astra says:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. I will certainly take a moment to channel that energy to you and all my friends unable to be there in person. Can’t wait!

  9. Pingback: Stage Door: Dos and Don’ts | Nowhere in Particular RA

Leave a Reply

