Richard Armitage in The Crucible: An Apology

The Crucible

The Crucible: Starring Richard Armitage

I feel compelled to write this blog post. All of my dear Armitage friends who are going to experience seeing Richard Armitage in The Crucible this summer are going to hear a lot from me about my experience of seeing Hugh Jackman in The Boy from Oz on Broadway in 2003-4. I know first hand how exciting it is to see a wonderful performer LIVE on stage. It is incredibly energizing and, dare I say, likely to become an obsession!

To any Armitage well-wishers trying to decide whether to get ONE MORE ticket to the play – GET IT. You will not regret it. I am not ashamed to say that I saw Hugh Jackman in The Boy from Oz on Broadway from 2003-2004 FIFTEEN times!! And, believe me, I was far from holding the record of number of performances. Barbara Cook, the renowned Broadway superstar of many Broadway shows, saw it at least that many times. I went to see the final performance in September of 2004, and among others, Barbara Walters and Matt Damon were invited on stage to participate! It was hilarious! And Hugh Jackman, in a New York Daily News Q&A said that the last night was the highlight of his career.

hj peter allen

Hugh in The Boy from Oz

I can’t even imagine how wonderful it will be to see Richard Armitage on stage. Well, I guess I can imagine, since I saw him in the Proust/Pinter play!

RA pinter proust kiss

Richard Armitage being all intense and steamy on stage. <FAINT>

When I got my first ticket to see Hugh Jackman in The Boy from Oz I didn’t know I would fall in love. I took my Mom as a treat. We had tickets in the second row, on the right. I looked right up at him when he was on that side of the stage. Before that moment I had never seen him in anything, but I heard him sing as Curly in Oklahoma in a London production. After that first experience of seeing him on stage I took out every DVD of every film I could find him in. From (dear departed) Blockbuster. The cashier said, “You like Hugh Jackman? My mom loves him!” I told the cashier “Don’t know. That’s why I’m taking out these DVDs!”.

normal_SOMEONELIKEYOUSTILL-003

Hugh in Someone Like You (2001)

See, I like Hugh Jackman much more the way he was pre-Wolverine than the super pumped up version we see now. He had a great body before. Wolverine now looks like a monster to me. (Just my opinion!)

I am so deliriously happy for the Armitage well-wishers who will get to see Richard Armitage in The Crucible this summer. It is an incredible experience to see an amazing person who is also an amazing actor on stage LIVE. And maybe have an opportunity to interact with him off stage. Maybe! 😀 Good luck!!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Richard Armitage in The Crucible: An Apology

  1. Nell says:

    Thanks for encouraging, Marie! I am sure the play and the lead will deserve it!

  2. reveilles says:

    And it doesn’t hurt that Richard Armitage and Hugh Jackman bear some resemblance to each other, either. 🙂

Leave a Reply

