Raul Julia

Lest anyone think that I am a shallow fangirl of pretty maleflesh, as portrayed by Mr. Richard Armitage, Hugh Jackman, Sean Bean…etc., I present to you one of my earlier obsessions for an actor who is not just beefcake (no offence to RA, HJ or SB, who are most decidedly not just beefcake!). When I was a teenager I spent a ridiculous amount of time going to see theater on Broadway. One of the works that I absolutely loved was Two Gentlemen of Verona. I loved it. One of the stars of the production was Raul Julia. Wow. LOVED him. raul julia 2

Raul was a sexy, hunky guy. With a swoonable Puerto Rican accent. <sigh> I loved him a lot. I thought about him today because he portrayed Archbishop Oscar Romero, who was a martyr in the cause of freedom for El Salvador. Archbishop Romero was a bishop of the Catholic Church in El Salvador. Archbishop Romero spoke out against poverty, social injustice, assassinations and torture. He was assassinated on 24 March 1980. Raul Julia portrayed him in a movie in 1989. Mr. Julia died in October, 1994. Way too soon.

Aside from his portrayal of Archibishop Romero, Raul Julia was in many films and tv shows, most notably as Gomez Addams in The Addams Family movies.

gomez

and, my personal favorite, in the film version of The Kiss of the Spider Woman in 1985.

Raul Spider Woman

 

If you haven’t seen The Kiss of the Spider Woman, I highly recommend it. The film stars Raul Julia and William Hurt. Very complex and amazing. The Broadway show was equally complex and challenging. With music. I might have seen it more than once… 😀

I will always remember Mr. Raul Julia. A great actor who died way too soon.

1978, Meryl Streep and Raul Julia in The Taming of the Shrew.

RJ and Meryl Streep Raul and Meryl

Rest in peace, Raul. Some of us will never forget you.

 

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raul Julia

  1. Perry says:

    I saw it!! Two Gentlemen of Verona. (Clifton Davis played opposite). And oh my, Kiss of the Spider Woman – the film. in some ways was life altering for me. Now I want to watch it again. I saw the Broadway version as well with Chita Rivera, but I thought the film was a better experience.
    And what a shock when Raul died so young. I looked it up, he was 54.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Yes I loved The Kiss of the Spider Woman film. Although I really loved the musical as well. Great story! And yup, Clifton Davis! Saw that a bunch of times! I really miss Raul. 😦

Leave a Reply

