OT: Olympics Ice Dancing!

white davis

Charlie White and Meryl Davis – USA

The Olympics is definitely NOT one of my obsessions. I have actively avoided watching them most of the time. The blatant patriotism of the event turns me off. This year, due to the heavy fall of snow in my area, I was at home watching television. I like ice skating, the only sport I am adequate at, and so I thought I would watch the ice dancing competition. Wow. I LOVED it. And, not surprisingly, I was not a USA USA USA gal. I was interested in the presentations from different countries, especially Russia and France. WOW, indeed.

Hope I don’t spoil anything for you, but the U.S.A. team of Charlie White and Meryl Davis win the Gold Medal at the Sochi Olympics this year. And, boy, do they deserve it!

white davis 2

They were flawless. I watched the ice dancing competition all afternoon today (Thanks, Presidents’ Day Holiday!). And I loved many of the other dancers. There was gorgeous dancing, impeccable partnering, and hot, hot, hot dancing going on. But you could tell the Gold Medal dancers from the 4th and 5th place competitors pretty easily. I was not disappointed. I truly loved the Russian pair ofΒ Elena Ilinykh and Nikita Katsalapov. The Black Swan dance they did was perfection. They won the Bronze.

russian bronze

 

Ilinykh and Katsalapov

 

They were perfectly attuned – you felt their connection and they were perfectly in sync to the music.

If I have an impossible dream, it would be to perform Meryl Davis’s Scherazade to Richard Armitage’s Charlie White. In a dream I would Β ice dance with him in Β a beautiful, graceful, romantic, performance. <sigh> An Alternate Universe dream, for sure! πŸ˜€

Congratulations to the Ice Dancing winners! You were all spectacular!!

Have you ever had an Olympic dream? It’s so foreign to me. I am not athletic in any way. Can barely ice skate. That’s about it. LOL!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to OT: Olympics Ice Dancing!

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I tried ice-skating once when I was a teenager and I couldn’t do it! this flabbergasted me because I was a decent roller-skater and yet I could not stay up on those ice-skates! 😯 I’d only try it now if I needed a really good laugh…or an excuse to hold on to someone very tightly πŸ˜‰

    • Marie Astra says:

      Are you any good at any other sports? I suck at everything. The only thing I am mildly able to do is ice skate! At least, I don’t fall down. πŸ˜€

      • kelbel75 says:

        the older I get, the more out of shape I get 😳 generally I like sports and I am still “okay” at a variety of them. I enjoy playing catch with baseball, football, and frisbee. I’m not that great at basketball or bowling anymore b/c I have tendonitis in my wrists πŸ˜• I used to be a fairly good sprinter but I wouldn’t be able to walk if I tried to sprint anywhere now 😯 I was never very good at soccer or hockey though because once I get knocked off balance I lose my equilibrium. is dancing a sport? if so I’m horrible at that one! πŸ˜† I dance with my daughter & no one else b/c she’s 9 and doesn’t judge me yet πŸ˜‰

      • Marie Astra says:

        I liked to dance “back in the day”, as they say. Long time since I was there! Never interested in team sports (other than bowling). I did try out for cheerleader once. But my friends told me it was icky to be a cheerleader, so I didn’t do it. Any exercise is good these days! πŸ˜€

    • Marie Astra says:

      Oh, and I was pretty good at bowling too. LOL!!!

  2. Christine says:

    One of my friends in Canton, MI, helped them with their “Scheherezade” routine. Go, MI bellydance community!! Woohoo!!! πŸ˜€

    • Marie Astra says:

      REALLY? How cool! It is outstanding. Please tell her that even us really out of it ignorant folks thought it was a fabulous routine. πŸ˜€ Go, MI!!

      • Christine says:

        Thanks!! I’ll pass that along. πŸ˜€ Our whole community is SO SO SO excited. We so rarely agree on anything (think the RA community is fractured right now? fuhgeddaboudit. Bellydancers can be crazy) that it’s great to have so many of us excited about the same thing. ❀

      • Marie Astra says:

        Happy!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

