He’s the Real Deal – #RAflash Fan Event

RA Waterstones big smile

Aww, I just love when he smiles!

I’ve told the story about how I became Armitaged, but for this fun #RAflash event I will tell a bit more.

armitage thorin

My first view of Richard was Thorin.

However, I’m not one of those who can’t get enough of the pelty-goodness. I noticed two things about Thorin when I first saw AUJ – his voice, and the expressive acting. I absolutely loved RA’s and PJ’s interpretation of the character. Richard brought him to life for me. So I had to find out more about the actor, who I thought I’d heard of but didn’t really know anything about.

That’s when I saw something fine. I found the interviews page on richardarmitagenet.com. I read from oldest to most recent and I was ARMITAGED! I could not believe how awesome he was. Funny, self-deprecating, focused, well-mannered, candid, intelligent, musical…and a Tolkien geek! What a fine man he is!

RA PressConf-03

To say nothing of the pretty pictures. All the photo shoots and screencaps. I spent hours and days looking through the website. Then I found Servetus’s site and read, read, read my way through her insights and speculation and research about the man. Wow. I was overwhelmed and couldn’t stop thinking about him.

Then I saw North & South, and couldn’t believe how it spoke to me personally, since I am involved in labor relations and the story includes a strike! Founds Spooks, Robin Hood, Vicar of Dibley. I decided to write to him to thank him, particularly for Thornton and Thorin. I never expected anything back because I didn’t ask for a picture or an autograph, and didn’t include a stamped, self-addressed envelope. But I did get a reply! OK, it was just a pre-printed letter with his signature, but it came from Leicester and the way the envelope was addressed made it seem very personal. Folks on the Armitage Army board said that his mom helped with fan mail. Awww. I loved him even more.

Yes, I saw something fine in Richard Armitage. I know that despite all the information I’ve read about him I don’t know him personally. He is like a fictional character that I love and care about, really. He makes me happy. For the first few months of 2012 just looking at a picture of him relieved so much stress from me. I have an unbelievably stressful job and having something that makes me happy is an incredible blessing. Β He still makes me smile whenever I see a picture or even think about him! I’ll be sitting on the bus and think about something about him and find myself with a big smile on my face.

tumblr_mxxd7fQQFi1r44fqxo1_400

Thank you, Richard Armitage!

Thanks to RA Frenzy for coming up with this great idea of #RAflash Fan Event! It was so much fun to look through all the pictures I have in my media library for my blog. Brought back great memories of an Armitaged year!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to He’s the Real Deal – #RAflash Fan Event

  1. MaryJaneZigZag says:

    Thanks for sharing your story! This flash event is pretty awesome πŸ™‚

  2. guylty says:

    Oooh, you wrote a letter. And received a reply. How nice.
    I find it very interesting how we are all able to find something very specific to our own lives and experiences to relate to and to cement the interest with, in your case the labour relations angle of N&S.

  3. Perry says:

    Wow. I never knew about the letter and the reply. That is so cool. And I know what you mean about how just looking at his photos can relieve stress – ditto to listening to his voice.

  4. KatharineD says:

    There can be no higher compliment than, ‘he makes me happy’. That’s it in a nutshell. Love the two photos that top and tail the post, Marie.

  5. Pingback: He’s the Real Deal | I Saw Something Fine

  6. richardiana says:

    Thanks for this! Your journey is remarkably similar to mine – well, except for the letter and labour relations πŸ™‚ – but I recognize the big smile in the end oh so well…

Leave a Reply

