I Finally Saw The Desolation of Smaug!

Yes, finally. I delayed a long time because I wasn’t well and then I was waiting for my brother’s schedule to allow us to go together. Well, got tired of waiting and went to see it.

I have to say that I was totally spoiled before I saw it. Between the Hobbit Fan Event footage, and all the trailers and the fan reviews, I pretty much knew what to expect. I was worried that I would have a bad reaction to the changes PJ made to the story. Surprisingly, that didn’t happen. I was able to view the film as a separate thing – a film, not the book.

I loved it. I found the ending okay, although others have said it made no sense. To me it seemed understandable. I understood Thorin‘s use of the weapons available in Erebor to fight the dragon. I’m sure he had long been thinking about the fact that they had no time to use those weapons when Smaug first attacked.

I also didn’t mind the fact that Kili was left behind. It made sense in the context of this film. It was the right thing for Thorin to do. I also didn’t mind the Tauriel – Kili connection. I thought it was sweet. And I understand that it will make the third film that much more sad. Awwwww. I see what’s coming! Sad sad sad sad.

That said, I wasn’t so excited about this film as I was about AUJ. Discovering Richard Armitage as Thorin was a MAJOR achievement of AUJ!!!! This movie was great, but I already know how great Richard Armitage as Thorin is. I was prepared for it. And he fulfilled every expectation!! Richard Armitage is Thorin. No question. I can’t imagine any other actor portraying Thorin. Wow. What a tribute.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Finally Saw The Desolation of Smaug!

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I was spoiled before going too (I can’t resist reading the spoilers!) but I felt it didn’t lessen the movie at all for me. I really liked it and I didn’t mind the changes 😎

  2. Like Kelbel, there was some spoiler influence, but over all I just worked to keep myself in the dark. But I’m so glad you were finally able to see it and have enjoyed it!

  3. Servetus says:

    Can’t believe you held out THIS long. I thought Armitage was good in AUJ (well, of course I did, lol), but I thought he was slightly better here. He had more room for his artistry.

  4. AgzyM says:

    Speaking of spoilers, I can’t wait to snag the new Sherlock episode today. The reason for m OT is that even when you see separate scenes or you read someone’s review beforehand, the movie as a whole is still a surprise. I don’t trust anyone’s interpretation until I can judge for myself.
    Having said that, if ANYONE spoils how Sherlock survived the fall there will be fire and we will ALL burn 😉
    PS. You have some catching up to do with multiple viewing of DOS 🙂

    • Marie Astra says:

      Eeek, Sherlock! I know. Can’t wait to see it!! Do you like Doctor Who, too?? I think Stephen Moffatt does much better at Sherlock than Dr. Who. Just MHO. :/ Yes, multiple viewings of DOS are in order for the new year!! Will get right on it! 😀 And thank you, Agzy. You are one of my RA heroes! 😀

  5. I’m glad you enjoyed the movie.

  6. armitagebesotted says:

    Glad to see I’m not alone, Marieastra. Many things we saw in the sneak peek on Nov 4 that seemed so startling/shocking didn’t have the same impact on me during the movie. Or on the audience I was with either, so I don’t think it can be explained solely by I knew what was coming up. When they set up that scene where previously cool you-know-who chops off that guy’s head, I was prepared for the audience to gasp as we did on Nov 4. Nada. And, by the way, I swear I was NOT thinking about V8 engines during the barrel scene.

  7. Pingback: Fandom Wish Fulfilment part 1 | FanFiction Fridays

Leave a Reply

