North or South?

 

ns1-with mom

Everywhere there is conflict and unkindess.

That is the way Margaret Hale describes “the North” to her cousin in “the South” of England.

I recently took an online quiz which supposedly measured how “North” or how “South” you were. It was geared for a UK audience. In the U.S. the designations are opposite. To be from the “North” in the U.S., is to be urban, more liberal/progressive, higher income. The “South” on the other hand, connotates a more conservative, more rural, less sophisticated, person.

I came out 45% South (UK) in the quiz. Which I figured was fair, since I came from Brooklyn, NYC, which at the time was not very urban/liberal/educated/high income. Even though now I am liberal/educated/high income, I still retain much of the “south”, i.e. Brooklyn, i.e., working class, identity that I grew up with.

This makes me think, as so many things do, of Richard Armitage. Growing up in Leicestershire. Mom had to work to send him to dance school. (As mine did to send me to drama school!)

Our mums supported our dreams of being MORE than our circumstances offered. I did not live out my dream of being a performer, but RA did! He made it!! His mum must be over the moon about his success! My mum is over mine too, which is considerably less big-time than RA’s. Still his mum must just about EXPLODE when she sees him in something.

Crossing class lines is a difficult thing. It was for me. I was so uneducated/poorer/less intellectual than the people I worked with when I worked in book publishing that I felt sorely inadequate. I had to work with people who thought I was “amusing”. Really. I thought it was funny then. It doesn’t happen much now. I don’t imagine it happens at all with RA now!! LOL!!

I wish we knew what RA’s next project will be. Fingers crossed that it’s something he really wants to do!! 😀

RA Strike Back smile

 

Pictures from RichardArmitageNet.com. Thanks!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to North or South?

  1. kelbel75 says:

    the reason I always relate to N&S is because I’m from the “North” that consists of factories and blue collar workers, of the unrefined and stoic. my relatives would have most likely been the workers in the mill, not Mr. Thornton himself, but oftentimes I felt like him: just trying to survive, like those around him, but being judged because his path had been unfairly stereotyped. In my earlier years I was sometimes Margaret though, a stranger in a strange land who thinks she knows how to fix everything; which is probably why she irritates me so much! 😉 there are so many layers to N&S: politics, romance, family; it never fails to make me think deep thoughts 🙂

  2. Xenia says:

    Hi, I grew up in Brooklyn, New York, so we have more than RA love in common. I enjoyed reading this post. Where is the link for the quiz?

    Btw, I love how you keep your blog so clutter free, clean and neat. I cannot seem to stop putting stuff on my sidebar. For the “recent posts” list that you have on your sidebar, what is the name of the widget?

  3. Thank you.
    Btw, I took the test and I am 40% Northern.

  4. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 105: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

Leave a Reply

