Why Marie STILL Wants to Meet RA

I was feeling very sad about the Hobbit Fan Event when I thought about how uncomfortable I perceived Richard Armitage to be. Looking at pictures of the Event, some of them show a happy Richard Armitage and most of them show someone withdrawn and seemingly uncomfortable. Some of the reports I’ve read say that the person thought Mr. A. was happy, some have said they thought he seemed like he was wishing he was anywhere but there, some thought he seemed tired or ill, some said he seemed shy, some said he seemed comfortable but just naturally introverted.

Photo1 (7)

At first I was sad because I thought he was uncomfortable and I hated that he was forced into situations that made him uncomfortable. Folks wiser than I said Hey, he’s an adult. He chose to be there. No need to be sad for him. It’s his job, after all! And you know what? Those folks are right.

RA Hobbit Event after

I have come to feel that RA was as comfortable Monday as he ever is at events like that. I was too close to it. I was in the second row and had expectations that were not incumbent on RA to fulfill. He was perfectly fine as himself. Perceptions that he is a human being, with complicated reactions to life are probably correct! But when I see the fan photos of him after the event I think, he’s just FINE!

Go for it, RA! If you want to work in serious U.S. tv, you should. If you want a Hollywood role, you should get it! If you want to try theater in the U.S., WOW! You are a GREAT, no exceptions, actor. You MUST get a role worthy of you. Hopefully you have something signed up. If not, I’m sure you will get something soon.

Esquire hairAll I have to do is look at the Esquire, UK photo shoot as exemplified above, and I know that you are a STAR who will shine on us all for some time to come!

p.s. Please be somewhere I can shake your hand sometime soon, Mr. A. πŸ˜€

Thanks to RichardArmitageNet.com for photos.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Why Marie STILL Wants to Meet RA

  1. Servetus says:

    I would say the main thing is whether you enjoyed yourself (for which having realistic expectations is a useful prerequisite).

    I think it’s a truism that if you look at the whole trajectory of Armitage’s interviews, he’s looked slightly to very uncomfortable more often than not. (He’s never going to be Tom Hiddleston and that’s fine.) For what it’s worth, I’d put this appearance somewhere in the mid-range — nowhere near the comfort he showed for (most of) the Sydney appearance but miles more comfortable than many of the interviews he was doing around 2006-7.

    • Marie Astra says:

      It was the comparison to Orlando Bloom that did me in. He was so reticent compared to Bloom that it took me back. Of course, compared to other interviews/situations he wasn’t so uncomfortable, true.

  2. Servetus says:

    relatively speaking, Bloom’s much more experienced, and they just may be different personalities. Bloom’s been doing a ton of publicity recently for his R&J gig, so he’s in good shape / practice — when was the last time Armitage had a public appearance (as opposed to an interview)? It’s been a while. Plus we have no way of knowing what happened to him that morning …

    The people who say it’s his job are right. This kind of thing is the cost of doing business.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Seemed like Bloom was just being himself, as was RA. Just as a footnote, you are right Bloom is doing A TON of publicity. He’s been all over NY media. And RA doesn’t do as much at all.

  3. Faboamanto says:

    Richard Armitage was being himself, as Orlando Bloom was being himself. Introverted and/or shy people have a right to be as they are! I am one of those people, and often I get very tired of having to fit someone else’s (extroverts) mold of what a person should act or be like, or think like,or react to situations in a certain way like. I’m tired about having to explain why I’m quiet, and I’m sure Richard is tired about explaining too, since we have to do so all our lives, all our lives.. I thought RA was himself, and he was perfectly fine. I didn’t find him to be overly uncomfortable at all on Monday, just being himself. Orlando seemed to be fidgeting all the time, that’s who he is, maybe some people prefer that, I don’t know, because I don’t. This is part of RA’s job, he’s done it before, he will do it again. He loves the work by his own account, and he knows PR comes with the territory.

    • Marie Astra says:

      I sort of disagree with you here. You may be an introvert and you are certainly entitled to be who you are. As an entertainer though I think actors have a different role to play, as it were. Certainly I was taught that when I was in drama school. When you are in front of an audience you are not “yourself”. RA doesn’t have to explain anything. He has to live with the results of his actions, as do we all!!

  4. I know what you mean – Although he was quite relaxed when he was in Sydney there was still a “forced” aspect to the public appearances that made him seem slightly uncomfortable. Yes its part of his job to do PA but that doesn’t mean he has to like it.
    I wasn’t there in New York (I’m so chuffed for you that you were, and you got such great seats!) and I confess I haven’t watched any of the footage of the fan event yet, but I can imagine his demeanor was similar to what I saw and I really think he hates being in the spotlight.

    • Marie Astra says:

      You haven’t watched the FAN EVENT?? What would Thorin say? πŸ˜€ Despite my sad ramblings following that event, I am DELIRIOUSLY happy that I got there and that I got to sit in the second row, RIGHT IN FRONT OF HIM!! πŸ˜€ Only thing better will be actually meeting him. One day! πŸ˜€

  5. Perry says:

    LadyO, – I agree that he, or anyone else doesn’t have to like everything they have to do for his job, but I think they ought not telegraph that they don’t like what they’re doing. I think he did Ok with it. Once more I’ll just say that this particular assignment had to be one of the more difficult to pull off graciously, and I think he did it. It reminded me of when our President addresses the joint houses of Congress- he stands at the front of the chamber with his wife and a few politicians, usually the VP sitting behind him, and the entire time the camera is on the President, beaming to the whole country if not further, these people have to sit behind him, smile and applaud at the appropriate time because they’re on camera.
    So too with Armitage and Bloom ( and the other actors in the other locations).Almost all of the time, for 90 minutes, they were not participating in the event except by watching what was going on – while an entire theater full of people were watching them watch.

    And also, something we discussed yesterday in CrystalChandlyre’s chat, the physical set-up was also awkward, as the talent were not on a stage and not removed from the audience. The audience, Marie will tell you, was right on top of them, practically at the same level – they were just on a sort of platform. Front row seats were taken out to accommodate the monitors that they were looking at, so they were leaning down into the audience. The only other choice was to twist around and try to watch the giant screen that was right behind them – which had to be way to close to see anything.

    For someone who likes to be prepared for everything he does, this particular event, had to be extra stressful and overall, I think he did fine with it.

  6. guylty says:

    I watched the event live and came away feeling ambivalently about RA’s (lack of?) participation in it. It puts into focus for me a problem that I struggle with in relation to fandom in general: Does an actor owe anything to his audience at events like this? Sure, we can demand he delivers his role in a play or a movie (which we have paid to see), but can we demand that he be what we want him to be when he is not acting but representing himself? I would have loved to see him more lively and interacting with the audience, but ultimately he has to follow his own conscience and feelings and not play to our expectations.
    Thanks for writing down your observations and interpretation, Marie. I too am really glad you got to see him there, and I hope you will eventually get the chance to shake his hand somewhere.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Like I said, he’s not required to do anything. He just has to take the consequences of what he chooses. As we all do! I love him the way he is. My feelings are mine to deal with. Thanks for your comment. I so LOVE your *ooofs*! πŸ˜€

  7. KatharineD says:

    I wonder whether RA just naturally takes more of a back seat when he shares a stage with a more extroverted colleague, happy for them to soak up the limelight and take pressure of him to ‘perform’. He always seems happy to defer to others,like offering the better seat on stage to Martin Freeman at the Apple store Q&A I think it was.
    I like Guylty’s question- what does he owe us in this context? Certainly to pay attention, and to answer his question promptly when it’s his turn. I thought it was a very entertaining answer- both amusingly about the toilet, and then the ‘actorly’ rendition of his favourite line. The plain fact is, he didn’t really have any other chance to perform for the audience in that context.

    • Marie Astra says:

      Yes that’s true. He had no other role to play except as an actor with fans sitting in front of him. He was performing, without a script. He chose to pretty much ignore the whole thing, which is of course his right to do. We each react to that performance in different ways. It’s interesting.

      • Perry says:

        What was it that made you feel he was ignoring the whole thing?

      • Marie Astra says:

        Just the way he kept staring at the monitors. Contrasting him to Orlando Bloom and Anderson Cooper. You know, maybe I am wrong. Maybe, like kelbel75 said, I just am seeing something that wasn’t there. I just reported my impression – the feeling I walked away with. I can’t point to anything more specific. When I look at the pictures I and others took it brings back that feeling. Others may interpret things differently. kellyduck said she thought he looked happy, not uncomfortable. So really, it must be me. Sorry. 😦

  8. kelbel75 says:

    I’m glad to see that you’re working through your feelings on this πŸ™‚ we tend to project our own feelings/desires onto the celebrities we admire. I’m not saying *you’re* doing this, but I’ve seen it often in the Twilight fandom. a lot of those women feel the need to protect Robert Pattinson, to guide Kristen Stewart, to “be there” for Peter Facinelli when he went through his divorce, etc. and so they tend to “see” the celebrity displaying those actions/feelings, which then gives them a reason for feeling the way that they do towards them (protectiveness, etc.) It can be disheartening to reduce it all to “it’s just his job” b/c we want our hero to be more than that, don’t we? πŸ™‚ but he is just a man who occasionally wakes up on the wrong side of the bed, or who eats bad sushi for lunch that upsets his stomach, or who gets into disagreements with his agent right before walking onto the stage, etc. we just don’t know *shrugs* though trying to dream up reasons “why” can be entertaining πŸ˜‰

  9. kelbel75 says:

    I’m replying to your reply to Perry: if that’s what *you* saw, then that’s what you saw πŸ˜‰ I just don’t think it automatically means something dire is going on with him, that’s all. if you felt that he looked uncomfortable, distracted, whatever; then he most assuredly could be. you don’t need to ignore your gut or your intuition because others who were there saw something different. none of us know, of course, but even if that was indeed the way he was feeling, it does seem unusual for him, so that’s why I suggested that the reason for it could be any of a number of things πŸ™‚

    • Marie Astra says:

      Love you, kelbel75! Thank you. You are so right on so many fronts. Especially I think that I am the filter and I write my perceptions. That doesn’t make it the TRUTH! LOL! I love him no matter what. I think he’s fabulously talented. I have no right to make assumptions about him as a person! Which it seems like I did because he was right in front of me. But actually that wasn’t him – he was still “performing” Richard Armitage in front of an audience. Does that make any sense?? πŸ˜› I’m starting to doubt my sanity!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

