Guy

guy in leather

Guy of Gisborne has been difficult for me. I don’t like the Robin Hood series he is in. I don’t like his Robin Hood. I don’t like his Marian. But Guy is undeniably an attractive, sexy man. He’s a bad, bad boy. In leather. <sigh>

The most deceptive thing about Guy are his eyes. He has those dreamy long lashes, dark-rimmed to draw you in. And blue, blue BLUE!  His eyes soften his face to make you think he is nice, warm, loving. And the beautiful, leather clad body. Form fitting.

But he kills people! He’s evil! He is the henchman to the evil Sheriff! I mean whatever the ridiculous Sheriff wants him to do, he does. I know, he had a bad break as as a young person. I know, he seems to really want to love Marian. I know, he hasn’t had anyone really love him. But that doesn’t excuse his actions! It’s sad. I agree. But this chaRActer was made for fan fiction. What you see on screen is not all there is to this character. I love reading all the stories about him. They are so much better than the actual tv show!! I encourage everybody who is curious to look out for stories fans have written about Guy. They have better ideas than the writers of Robin Hood!!

rh209_017

rh209_021

rh211_032

Beautiful Guy. Deceptive. Sexy. I want him.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Guy

  1. Servetus says:

    This is an issue there used to be a lot of discussion about — was Guy really redeemable or was taht just something that fans wanted. there was a conference in which someone gave a paper and argued that was a reason why there’s so much more fanfiction involving Guy than Robin, because the show leaves it very ambiguous.

    • Marie Astra says:

      I think RA’s looks/performance give more weight to the idea that he is redeemable than what is in the actual script. My opinion. I wrote about it already, but it really does remind me of the debate about Spike in the Buffy the Vampire Slayer show. Was he redeemable? The writers didn’t think so, but the physical attractiveness/performance of the actor made us feel that he was. Seems the same with Guy.

  2. Teuchter says:

    “Guy” is undoubtedly a nasty piece of work, I don’t think anyone could deny that. But *Richard* in the role of Guy is a whole different ball game. His aim was to make Guy an unlikeable character and to “make our skin crawl” when he wooed Marian and if people didn’t like him in particular, even if they enjoyed the show, he would have been happy that he had achieved his objective. But in many instances this just didn’t happen. He raised the character from being what many have called “a cardboard cut-out baddie” to someone who could indeed have been redeemed, and to some extent by the end of S3 he had. Someone evil through and through would not have risked his own life and placed himself in danger attempting to save Robin – his one-time arch-enemy. So to my mind he *is* redeemable even if it took fan fiction to make it actually happen! He is a truly unforgettable character.

    Sorry! I had not intended this to be so long-winded! 😦

    • Marie Astra says:

      Hey, no problem. I appreciate the comment. Not having watched the show as it was broadcast, I am at a disadvantage to what the thinking was at the time. Coming at it so many years after, it seems to me that RA added something that the writers did not intend.

      • Teuchter says:

        Oh I think you hit the nail on the head there!! I doubt if they had any idea what an impact he would make. It wouldn’t surprise me to find that they may even have softened his character somewhat after they watched the effect “Guy” (or Richard to be more exact) had on some of the viewers! 😉 I have to admit that in anyone else I would have been completely turned off by the horrible things he did. I can still think of actors that I still *really* dislike only because of the roles they have played. I know! Crazy isn’t it?

      • Marie Astra says:

        No, it’s not crazy! I’m the same way! You associate the actor with the role. In Guy/RA’s case it’s a positive association becasuse of RA’s spin on the character.

      • Teuchter says:

        Do you think all that snug black leather helped in this case? 😉 *sigh*

      • Marie Astra says:

        Mmmm maybe… . 😀

  3. I have never gotten into Robin Hood as well, no matter how much I fast forward to his parts. But if there’s a season I can actually handle, it’s probably Season 3. I hate the black leather of S1 & 2, and don’t see anything sexy about it at all. I much prefer the tailored look of S3 which will make my viewing of it more bearable. I also cannot stand Marian.

    As far as fanfiction goes, that’s where Guy will live forever, because most everyone would like to redeem his character and give him a happily ever after ending. But I like that his redemption was death in S3, which would make sense as he was pretty torn up (more so than Robin, it seemed) about Marian’s death and wouldn’t have easily moved on to someone else without probably reverting to his old ways as old demons would have arisen anyway, making him unable to accept love from anyone else.

    • Marie Astra says:

      You don’t like the leather? I do. I liked it on Spike in Buffy the VS. Leather coat. It signifies a bad boy. I also did not like Marian. But a bad boy with eyeliner and leather?? Been there (Spike). Still not liking the show (Robin Hood) unlike the show (Buffy). But Guy? You are right. He lives in fanfiction. I thought I liked Season 3 until I watched some again and…. nah. Still not my cuppa. Poor Guy, What a mess.

      • I think he was designed to be a mess. He was always a slave to his emotions, which made him the perfect henchman but never the man commanding them. As the sheriff he would have been as bad as, if not worse then he previous one. However, In fanfiction, writers can then mold him to whatever they want him to be without having to worry about the psychology behind rage and PTSD. But then I always take my fanfiction too seriously when I should focus on the fluff and nonsense and simply have fun with it.

      • Marie Astra says:

        Why? Fan fiction is as valid as anything else. The character has it’s life. Why is it flufflier than what was filmed? I believe a character has life unto itself. If you want cannon, that’s another thing. But fan fiction can take lots of different routes, not necessarily less valid than what was filmed. In my opinion, anyway. It’s all fiction, right?

      • That’s my point about fanfiction. We can mold him whatever we want – serious, not so serious, fun, fluffy, not so fun and not so fluffy. Heck, some people throw in BDSM, rape, and other stuff in there but that’s their choice, and I respect that. It’s really up to the fanfic writer.

        But I’m speaking about myself as a writer though and not passing judgment on anyone else who writes however they want to write. We write for many reasons – some to heal, some to have fun, some to keep their beloved character alive, and in my case, I dove into fanfiction to take on challenges in my original fiction, that when I’ve overcome them, I apply to my original fiction.

        There are days when I try to write just fluffy stuff, and it just doesn’t work for me. But I don’t judge writers who do that. In fact I envy them for their ability to do that. I just read them and enjoy the ride.

        But if I were to take Guy into my world, I would apply his rage and PTSD into his psyche because to me, that’s how I see him. I don’t expect others to do the same.

        The only reason I said that maybe i should focus on the fluff and the nonsense is because while I do have fun writing my stories, the fun I experience is on the process of the writing of the story itself with its beginning, middle and end, conflict and resolution, which can actually feel more stressful than I care to admit.

      • Marie Astra says:

        Thank you. I appreciate the insight into the process.

  4. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 100: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  5. Pingback: A new series | kingsley the bard

Leave a Reply

