Happy Harry

Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.38.00Happy Harry Kennedy talking to his two favorite girls.

When I recently saw the video on My Sort of Bloke of the smiles of Harry Kennedy in The Vicar of Dibley, the scenes of Harry with his sister and Geraldine stuck out at me. It might be the blue shirt color just sticking out of Harry’s coat that really made me focus on Richard Armitage’s smiling face in these scenes. He just looks so….happy! Too bad Geraldine didn’t know it was his sister or she might have been happy too.

Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.43.41 Devil eyes. So naughty!

Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.39.20

Dreamy!

     Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.42.21                         Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.40.35

      VOD1

              Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.31.54                                         Snap 2013-09-25 at 19.33.22

Love all these pics! And the wavy hair! Never really noticed how wavy before. Harry was never one of my favorite of RA’s characters. He never really seemed real to me. I didn’t buy his sudden love for Geraldine or her’s for him. If her love could have been so challenged by the arrival of his sister, who she assumed was his girlfriend, I find it hard to believe she had real feelings for him. I know I’m an old curmudgeon for thinking this way, but as a larger than average gal I am very sensitive to the issue of good-looking men falling for a larger than average gal. Still, I love his smiles.

screencaps mine

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Harry

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I love Harry, so dearly! 🙂 I never really bought the whole thing with him loving her right away & proposing so very soon either 😉 but then again, her particular sense of humor would not go over well in any small community or church that I’ve ever been familiar with, so…suspension of belief 😉

    • Marie Astra says:

      Yes, of course, suspension of disbelief. And Dawn French is so adorable and charming! And funny!! Plus she daydreamed that she married Sean Bean, so I loved her years ago! 😀 but Harry? I love his smiles.

  2. Bollyknickers says:

    Yes- it was all a bit far fetched but then the whole program was. There were only 6 people in that village and yet they had a full time vicar for a start! But I loved it and I loved Harry too. It was just the ending we needed.

  3. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 98: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  4. Sandy Sue says:

    See, I identified with Geraldine completely. She went gaga over Harry, but because she’s insecure, she immediately thought his sister was a girlfriend. I know that feeling. And also telling yourself, “Oh, well, never should have gotten my hopes up. Misread all the signals.”

    To me, Harry’s love at first sight was the perfect Woman of Substance fantasy. To have That Face take one look and be hopelessly smitten? Oh baby!

    And then I read all the sweet things RA said about Dawn and how he loved working with her. You can see it in their performance. Which only made me adore him more.

    • Marie Astra says:

      I know what you mean, but I guess I wanted her to be a little more…mature? I know it’s a comedy. But her jumping in the muddy hole really disturbed me. Yes, what a lovely fantasy. LOL Although I have often been surprised at the good-looking men I’ve attracted even with my far from perfect body. There are some out there!

      I do love the nice things RA said about Dawn. He’s a good guy.

      • Servetus says:

        Maybe you already know this, but just asking: you know the jumping in the muddy hole is a reference to an earlier episode in the program?

        I’m not saying that makes it less disturbing, just additional context.

      • Marie Astra says:

        Yeah I read about that. It still bothered me – less when I found out about the earlier episode. I just wish I could have felt more of a relationship between them.

  5. kelbel75 says:

    I found the mud puddle funny but the running around the churchyard screaming, I didn’t like as much.

Leave a Reply

