The Convenient Marriage, by Georgette Heyer

I was not a fan of Georgette Heyer’s books until I became a Richard Armitage fan. Then I had to get the audiobooks of Heyer’s work that he recorded. Here’s a blog about the audiobook of The Convenient Marriage. I liked it a lot. Have you heard it?

Vulpes Libris

9780099474425Sometimes, only Georgette Heyer will do, and if itโ€™s one of those times, a huge favourite is The Convenient Marriage. Bookfoxes Kirsty and Hilary are agreed on that, though one has gone for the printed word and the other for a rather special audiobook version (rather special, that is, ahem, if you happen to be a fan of Richard Armitage). The novel is set in the 1770s. Marcus, Earl of Rule deigns to offer for the hand of the beautiful Elizabeth Winwood, a match that would save her family from penury. The marriage is necessary to salvage them all from the mountain of debt contracted by her scapegrace brother Pelham, Viscount Winwood, but Elizabeth has already given her heart away. Her youngest sister Horatia (Horry), just seventeen, saves the day by offering to marry the formidable Earl herself, a marriage of convenience with a man twice her age. Nowโ€ฆ

View original post 2,754 more words

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Convenient Marriage, by Georgette Heyer

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I have it and really like it too ๐Ÿ™‚ I just started “Venetia”; his voices aren’t nearly as entertaining in this one though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • marieastra8 says:

      I liked the story of Venetia a lot, though. I actually haven’t finished listening to A Convenient Marriage, but I love his characterizations! Have you got The Lords of the North? I don’t have that one.

      • kelbel75 says:

        yes, I have “Lords of the North” too. that one is very long! I couldn’t keep the character names straight, but hearing Richard pronounce them was enjoyable ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Servetus says:

        That one makes a lot more sense if you read the first book in the series (at least) — then you know who the people are, and why Sven and Kjartan hate Uhtred so much. That said, I haven’t been able to make myself get past Disc 3 of LOTN — I read the plot summary of this book, and I’m too worried about what happens to Uhtred after that.

      • kelbel75 says:

        a friend of mine is reading the whole series and she loves it! I cheated and looked up the summaries on Wiki. it helped me understand the plot better, but I just couldn’t help myself and read each of the very detailed descriptions *blushes* so I doubt I’ll actually read any of the other books.

      • marieastra8 says:

        I haven’t gotten that one yet. Must do so immediately! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. i.f. says:

    The reading of Richard Armitage is delicate, both in Venetia and in The Convenient Marriage. I would love him to do more audiowork, he is brilliant.
    Itโ€™s just that I am not really into this kind of literature with Victorian High-society. I would have never read a book by Georgette Heyer โ€“ I have to confess I got me the audiobook for quite another reason than the story itself.
    Probably the same story with Bernard Cornwell, although I have a soft spot for stories playing in the early medieval time.
    When I finished the Lords of the North I had realised that the story surprisingly had really gripped me. So after checking out on Wikipedia what was to happen after this book, I got me the follow up. Swordsong, read by Jamie Glover. That was rather a strange experience. I had already thought that the reading of LotN is brilliant. But how brilliant, I could only estimate after having heard the follow up. And this is by no means an offence against Jamie Glover who is also a critically acclaimed narrator. But Richard Armitage as a narrator is a class of its own.

  3. marieastra8 says:

    Yes, totally agree. Richard Armitage is in a class of his own. I could listen to his voice forever. I really have to get LotN. If he could make me enjoy the Heyer books, I’m sure a Bernard Cornwell story will be heaven. I actually think Bernard Cornwell is a very good writer. He wrote the Sharpe books, which I loved. The Sharpe series with Sean Bean too. I actually corresponded with BC online back then. Funny, I haven’t thought about that for a long time! Thanks for your comment!

  4. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 89: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  5. OMG If you haven’t heard Sylvester you are really missing something!!!! It is classic RA! And is a wonderful story to boot!

    • marieastra8 says:

      That was the first one I heard!! LOVE Sylvester! I got the three Heyer audiobooks. Don’t have any others. Sylvester was a good story. Liked Venetia too. Haven’t finished listening to The Convenient Marriage. LOVE his voice!!!!!

  6. I listened to “Venetia” first–and I liked it. But the frolicking romp that is “The Convenient Marriage”–the plot is a screwball comedy, Horrie is adorably incorrigible, RA’s voice work on dozens of voices is incredible from soup to nuts (Drelincourt, however you spell that, comes to mind) is impressive, Lord Rule’s blase ennui is replaced by a renewed interest in the world via his marriage to the little chit Horrie who got under his skin–has captivated me completely. I’ve listened to it three times in the last 1.5 yrs. Ha!

    • marieastra8 says:

      LOL! I stopped listening when Horrie was falling for Lord Rule’s enemy (forget his name) and his nonsense. I feel so sorry for her. Have to get back to it.

      • Leathers or something like that was the guy. What I love is that with RA portraying/voicing all of the roles, he is flirting with and seducing himself as Lord Rule to Horatia. I picture him in the sound booth being expressive as both characters and wonder if he ever got a giggle about it. Ha!

      • What I love is that with RA portraying/voicing all of the characters, he is seducing and being charmed by himself as Lord Rule to Horatia. I picture him in the sound booth acting out the scene with facial expressions as well and wonder if he ever got a giggle about seducing himself. Ha!

Leave a Reply

