Peter Jackson Video & Thoughts on Lee Pace

I love Peter Jackson. He saw a video of two girls watching The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug trailer for the first time and showed it to Evangeline Lilly, Orlando Bloom and Lee Pace, who have large parts in the trailer. This was their reaction:

This cracks me up! They look so delighted! This video made me happier than the trailer. Peter Jackson is such a LOTR fan. He so enjoys our love of his films.

As far as the trailer itself goes, I thought it looked kind of rough. The elves following the barrels looked like monkeys to me. I wasn’t crazy about the way Lee Pace voices Thranduil. I guess now is as good a time as any to admit I’m not crazy about Lee Pace. He struck me wrong in the tv series Wonderfalls (2004), which I adored, and I can’t get over it. I know he is a really good actor, but there you go. He just doesn’t appeal to me.

lee pace swing

According to Lee-Pace.net, Lee Grinner Pace was born on March 23, 1979 in Chickasha, Oklahoma. He spent several years in Saudi Arabia. His father was in the oil business. The family eventually lived in Texas, where Lee went to High School. He then went to the prestigious Juilliard School in New York City.

According to LeePace.net, Mr. Pace as an actor prepares by doing a lot of research into his character. In December 2012, he portrayed Vincenzo Bellini, composer of the opera I Puritani, on stage in New York City. Mr. Pace went to Sicily to do his research. You can read about it here.

One thing I found amusing in looking over quotes from Mr. Pace, was that he said “I am too tall [to dance]. Tall people don’t dance. It’s just not right.” That made me laugh, since he is 6’3″, just one inch taller than Richard Armitage, who we know made a living as a dancer for a time!

Anyway, reading his fan websites left me with the feeling that Mr. Pace is an interesting young man, with a serious attitude toward his craft, with a preference for working, preparing to work, and spending time with his dog at his home outside of New York City.

I’m looking forward to seeing the Desolation of Smaug. Hope the *real* trailer is a lot sharper than this teaser was. And that we see more of that majestic dwarf, Thorin!

thorin - DOS trailer

Thanks to RichardArmitageNet.com for the screencap of Thorin.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Peter Jackson Video & Thoughts on Lee Pace

  1. kelbel75 says:

    I didn’t even know Lee Pace was American, goes to show how much I know about him 😉 there is something about his cheekbones that I just do not like; it reminds me of those old Bugs Bunny cartoons when they depicted Humphrey Bogart and Bing Crosby *laughs* I did really like his laugh in that PJ video though 🙂

    • marieastra8 says:

      LOL that’s funny about the cheekbones. I know exactly what you mean. I’m not sure what it is about him that turns me off, but I find him vaguely annoying as an actor. I have no idea what he’s like as a person, but he loves his dog, so that’s good! 😀

  2. I love Lee! Loved him in Pushing Daisies and Miss Pettigrew Lives for A Day. Pushing Daisies was one show my husband and I watched faithfully and we were so bummed when it got cancelled. Hubby loves Kristin Chenoweth :). I’ve yet to see Wnderfalls and other stuff he’s been in.

    I love his voice and was surprised at how much I enjoyed the trailer, and how I found his voice perfect for Thranduil.

    • marieastra8 says:

      I know I’m in the minority re Lee. And don’t hate me, but I’ve seen Kristin Chenoweth on stage many times and she really annoys me. GREAT talent, but I can’t help it. I want to love Lee, but I just don’t. I’m really really glad you enjoyed the trailer and loved Thranduil, though! I am sure looking forward to December, that’s for sure! We’re in agreement about that, anyway! 😀

  3. Servetus says:

    Huh. Well, for me, anyway, this trailer seriously reenergized me and got me excited about TH again, not least b/c of Pace, who I thought was amazing here. Have only seen him in Lincoln where I thought he was the best part of the film. I’m now wondering if the Thranduil / Thorin exchanges are going to be a highlight of this film?

    • marieastra8 says:

      Yeah. I know. What can I say, I don’t love Lee Pace. I want to, because I like what I read about him, but I just don’t. I totally agree about Thranduil/Thorin, though. Woo hoo! That will be a match!! Just that one pic of the two of them facing off from the earlier DoS peek sent out sparks! I’m sadly also one who loves the elves more than the dwarves, dare I admit?

      I watched the entire series of Wonderfalls, and while he wasn’t the star, his role in it annoyed me totally. Bad start. Has that ever happened to you?

      • Servetus says:

        I know a lot of people who have that kind of reaction, but I don’t usually watch a whole series of anything where there’s a constant/regular annoyance factor. Armitage’s stuff has been a minor exception to that (e.g. Jonas Armstrong in RH).

        I always forget you were a Tolkien fan first. That also changes your perspective, obviously …

  4. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 83: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  5. Irashari says:

    A classy way to promote Richard Armitage.

Leave a Reply

