The Tony Awards

neil-patrick-harris-300

Neil Patrick Harris, who should be named Tony Awards M.C. for life!

One of my major life obsessions has been Broadway theater. Being born in New York City it is part of my DNA. The first Broadway show I saw was Hello Dolly.  For those who don’t know, when a new show opens everyone wants to see it so they can see the original cast. Long-running shows go through many cast changes. The show you see after 10 years on Broadway is not the show that won the Tony Award. When I was a teenager and a young adult that was usually the show I could afford to see – when the discounts started to kick in. Not the opening cast. I loved the shows anyway.

Now, I do try to see the original cast if I can.  This year I was only able to see Kinky Boots and Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike. Hoping both of them win Tony Awards tonight!! (Late Note: THEY DID WIN! BOTH OF THEM!)

kinky boots

Kinky Boots is a musical with book by Harvey Fierstein and music by Cyndi Lauper. It is based on the movie of the same name. I absolutely loved this musical. It is about a failing men’s shoe factory and how the business is saved by changing production from conservative mens’ shoes to “kinky boots” = women’s boots made for men, i.e. transvestites. What it’s REALLY about is love and friendship and good places to work. A really feel good musical. Billy Porter is astonishing as the transvestite Lola. Stark Sands as Charlie Price, the factory owner was fabulous too.

VSMS-bottom-featureVanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike by Christopher Durang is a totally mad play, inspired by Chekhov. I couldn’t really begin to say what the play is about, other than it’s a very dysfunctional family with Sigourney Weaver and David Hyde Pierce playing brother and sister. Kristine Nielsen as a middle-aged spinster who finds her inner diva is fabulous and was nominated for a Tony Award. She was hilarious!!

My biggest wish is that Richard Armitage gets to be on Broadway one day. He really really deserves it and it would be so exciting to see him on the stage! If not in a musical, which would be awesome, then in a play like The Philadelphia Story, which he would be absolutely perfect for. The Philadelphia Story was made into a movie with Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant and James Stewart. I could see RA as C.K. Dexter Haven, the role played by Cary Grant.

Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn The Philadelphia Story

RA RobertAscroft-04

Lovely!

Thanks to Google for the pics!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Tony Awards

  1. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 83: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  2. Wow, how great to get to see Broadway plays just down the street! (or at least in the same city). I’ve always enjoyed live theater, but haven’t really gotten to see but two traveling Broadway casts – Hello Dolly w/ Carol Channing and Fiddler on the Roof w/ Topol. Both were incredible, but I have a soft spot for Topol – so amazing in person!
    I’ve also thought it would be fabulous to see RA live onstage. I could SO see him playing a Cary Grant role! I’m also partial to Shakespeare – maybe a comedy? Would love to hear more about the Broadway scene from an insider!

    • marieastra8 says:

      Hey, thanks for the comment! I’d love to see RA in Shakespeare, or Chekov. He brings such intensity to his characters it would be good to see him play one that’s worth it. He’s so good at creating characters, though, that I would also like to see him create a character on stage in a new play. Hugh Jackman is supposed to be bringing a new play to Broadway – about Houdini – because he wants to be able to do that – create a new character on stage. I love the theater, but it’s SO expensive, can’t go as much as I’d like. 😦

Leave a Reply

