obsession

Hawaii

This blog is dedicated to an exploration of my obsessions. My current obsession is Richard Armitage, so that is why I have mostly posted things about him. But before RA I had many other obsessions. And I have been thinking about that transition from obsession to just liking.

HJ Australia shower

sb sharpe

Before RA, some of my obsessions: The Lord of the Rings, Hugh Jackman, Sean Bean, The Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett, Hawaii. I’ve already posted about Sean Bean and Hugh Jackman. Usually one obsession leads to another – through my pursuit of one obsession I find another path to pursue. I found Sean Bean through my love of The Lymond Chronicles, and I found Hugh Jackman through my love of theater. Richard Armitage I found through my love for The Lord of the Rings, of course. What will I find through my love for RA? Too soon to tell. I’ve started this blog, which isn’t quite an obsession, just something I have fun doing.

LOTR books

I read The Lord of the Rings trilogy when I was 12 and every year thereafter for at least 10 years or more. During that time I not only read the books, I bought the calendars, I read literary criticisms of the books, I researched J.R.R. Tolkien, I read C.S. Lewis because he was connected to Tolkien. I watched the animated versions of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. I even have a movie program from the Ralph Bakshi animated version of The Lord of the Rings. I had a map of Middle Earth up on the wall of my very first office of my very first job. I have tapes of Tolkien talking, and a vinyl LP record of poetry readings and songs from The Lord of the Rings. I have the entire set of glasses that Burger King gave out for the release of the first Lord of the Rings movies. As well as several of the mini figures that came with their version of happy meals. I gave my brothers Prancing Pony tee shirts for Christmas. Totally besotted with the series. Followed the development of the movies with my usual obsession. Joined the LOTR fan club or whatever it was called. My name is on the dvd that has the names of all the fans who joined up on it. I was a totally obsessed fan of  the LOTR. Now, not as much.

Dwarves from the Hobbit

Over the years my obsession with LOTR dissipated. I haven’t re-read the trilogy in years. I have seen the Peter Jackson movies of course. Have the dvds in both regular and extended versions. Went to see the extended versions shown back to back at Lincoln Center in NYC, which was three, three hour plus movies, plus a video conference with PJ. Elijah Wood and Sean Astin were at the theater. It was fabulous!

Now I have the Hobbit trilogy. I didn’t follow the development of the movie from the beginning. Maybe I would have been besotted with RA a lot earlier if I had been doing so. If I had been paying attention to the filming of An Unexpected Journey maybe I would have noticed him.

In any event, I am not obsessed about The Lord of the Rings/The Hobbit as I once was. I no longer participate in every discussion about the books/movies on TheOneRing.net. Still, I love the books and the movies and, of course, the Hobbit movies. But I am not *obsessed* with them.

Will the same thing happen with Richard Armitage? Sadly, I must infer that it will. I will become less obsessed with him, and more just liking/loving him as a favorite actor. I am sad to think about it now, while I am *in love* or obsessed with him. But I know that someday he, too, will be one of my past obsessions. Unless I get to meet him and he falls in love with me and we live happily ever after! Don’t you think that will happen?? 😀

NYPremiere-23

Thanks to richardarmitage.net and google for the photos.

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to obsession

  1. Faboamanto says:

    I think that’s the way of all relationships in some way don’t you think? there are times when I’ve been intensely interested in an actor and have to watch everything they’re doing and have done, and sometimes that interest evolves into that of a long time friend I only see a few times a year but always fondly remember. Maybe we’re all the same in that way? I’m also a fan of Sean Bean’s and RA and can very much relate to what you say.

    • marieastra8 says:

      Thanks. Yes, I guess it is a natural progression, although some people seem to keep up the intense interest in something, someone, for a really long time. It’s interesting.

  2. Servetus says:

    I tend to be really immersed in things for a long time. (But that is the academic brain, I think.) The thing that has interested me most in my life I have studied almost exclusively since 1994. I’m not spending as much time on it now but its role in my life is just as emotionally significant as it always was.

    • marieastra8 says:

      I think studying something is different from obsessing over it. Frex, I study labor relations because it is my work but I wouldn’t say I’m obsessed with it. I guess you could study something with passion. As you say = emotionally significant. Yes, labor relations information continues to be emotionally significant for me because it relates to my past and my present. I don’t think I’ve really finished exploring this issue. When it comes down to it, things I have been obsessed with in the past are still emotionally significant to me sometimes. I would go back to Hawaii in a heartbeat if I had the time and money. I guess my former obsessions are still emotionally significant to me, even if I no longer spend as much time on them as I did at first. Is that what you mean?

      • Servetus says:

        I guess I don’t really see a difference. Every time someone tells me I am too emotionally involved in Armitage-whatever, I think, wow, you should see some of the people I work with. The really successful researchers / professors eat, sleep, and breathe what they’re working on. I have colleagues who literally have no other topic of conversation at lunch than their research. Everything else pales in comparison. It’s not just a matter of time spent, although that plays a role — they study these things because they are intensely attached to them; they occupy their thoughts constantly, even when they’re not at work. It’s just that their work is remunerated and they are designated as socially productive (to some extent anyway; it varies).

      • marieastra8 says:

        That’s true. I was thinking about studying in the non-academic sense, but I see what you mean. It’s one of the reasons I left working for the union – I didn’t feel as politically involved as my peers. I was more interested in helping people in the workplace, not changing the world. But they wouldn’t call it being obsessed with their work. I guess that’s great – if you can earn a living from your “obsession”, or from something you think about all the time.

      • Servetus says:

        yeah — so / and, i.e., I think there are good reasons for not calling Armitagemania an obsession. It’s not my program to change how people talk about it, though.

      • marieastra8 says:

        well, that’s what I’m kind of exploring. Is this Armitagemania the same type of attachment that I have had to other people, places, things in the past, or is it something new. My word for my past experiences is obsession. Just my word for it. The experience is that I become enmeshed in a world and then move on/morph to another enmeshment. Perhaps Armitage will break that pattern.

      • Servetus says:

        my question would be, “are the connotations of the word obsession so negative that it’s counterproductive to use it in this case?” I’m not saying for you, or for me in particular — I mean in general. What do we gain by calling these preoccupations obsessions?

        When I started my blog it had a different subtitle. Something like “not quite an obsession, but almost”. At some point I decided it had become a bit of an “obsession.” So I planned to change the title, but a lot of people encouraged me to take “obsession” out of the title. I think that was good advice — though not for the reason they gave it. I think they were worried about the negative picture of an “obsessed” fan. For me, I think by abandoning the “obsession” descriptor, I was able to look at the whole thing much more clearly.

      • marieastra8 says:

        There is, of course, a negative connotation to the word obsession. Obsessive behavior is actually mental illness. It is what others call my behavior when I am *obsessed* with a person/place/thing. What’s helpful for me is not what others think about what I do, but how I define what I do. I know I am not obsessed in an unhealthy way. I am exaggerating. I actually LIKE being excited, interested, curious, focused on something. Makes my life more interesting. I am exploring it in this blog because I am different from my friends/family in having *obsessions*. Words matter, though. And I understand that not calling something by a word with a negative connotation would help one see more clearly.

  3. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 83: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  4. Little Red says:

    Ha! Sean Bean was my first British Actor Obsession after watching him play Lovelace in “Clarissa”. I did move on from him and now RA is my one and only and has been for over six years now. I think for me, the internet with blogs and fanvideos on YT all help to keep it alive and feed the hunger.

    • marieastra8 says:

      I saw Clarissa! SB was a bad one in that! And that wig! LOL! Yes, with all the social media available now there are a lot more opportunities to keep obsessing! Thanks for the comment.

  5. guylty says:

    I read somewhere once that that chemical crush feeling of being in love last for about 2 to 3 years and then wanes off – you know, that period when you are madly in love with a new boyfriend, want to spend every single minute of the day with them and just generally can’t get enough of them. Sadly, it seems to be a mere chemical trick of our body to keep us interested long enough to be lured into procreation *ahem*. It could be the same with our shared movie boyfriend. – However, even in RL, the crush period then makes way to an established feeling of mutual respect and comfort and reliability. I am still in the crush phase (having fallen “in love” February 2012), and sorry if that should end. But then again, it will hopefully change to something else that will enrich my life in a different way. At least that is what I hope.

    • marieastra8 says:

      In RL I have found that I often wind up not really liking the guys I have that immediate chemical rush with. The ones that lasted were ones that I didn’t really like at first. Like RL relationships, too, the shared movie boyfriend doesn’t stay the same. He changes and becomes someone different from who you originally fell in love with. Gets older, takes roles you don’t like, drops out of sight. You never know. Hoping to have a long, enriching relationship with RA! Who knows what choices he will make though. We’ll always have the characters he created, though. They don’t change! 😀

Leave a Reply

