A Discovery of Witches Casting and New Books to Read

I found someone I thought would make a great Diana Bishop for a film adaptation of A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, Rachelle LeFevre: I wrote about Richard Armitage For Matthew Clairmont here.

rachelle lefevre DOW

RA eyes closed 2

I first saw her in A Gifted Man, the US television program with Patrick Wilson as the lead. I think she would be terrific as Diana Bishop.  I think she would be beautiful with Richard Armitage as Matthew Clairmont.

 

 

rachelle-lefevre-DOW RA Lucas North

I wish movie studios would just listen to the fans about casting instead of marketing executives. We have a much better idea of who would be good to play certain roles.

I just bought a copy of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. Some people think that Richard Armitage would be great to play a role in that movie. I will see what I think when I read the book.

I also bought Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery, who wrote The Elegance of the Hedgehog. I loved that book, although I know some people couldn’t get through it. I loved the movie (French) as well.

Another book I loved was The Alienist by Caleb Carr. It is a book about life in NYC during the mid-19th century. Such an interesting book. I went to a program where Caleb Carr spoke about how the experience of writing a book about the past of NYC was similar to the experience of writing a science “fiction” book about the future. He expressed the opinion that writing about the past was much the same as writing about the future, since one could never really be certain of the past. In fact a writer pretty much makes up, or envisions, the past in the same way that he envisions the future. You research what was or will be possible and write about it. No one can really be certain their vision of the past is accurate. We are only guessing about a lot of things.

the alienist caleb carrI loved The Alienist, and the blurb on the book I bought said that if you loved The Alienist you will love this book, so I bought it.

the gods of gotham

I am looking forward to reading all these new books! I have been using a Kindle for a number of years, but it broke. So I have bought these THREE new books as REAL books, not ebooks. Hope I haven’t forgotten how to read real books. LOL! 😀

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Discovery of Witches Casting and New Books to Read

  1. bechep says:

    I really MUST read this book – I have potato peel book, havent started it yet though. I need a day wiht no children and no housework (and no Twitter!)

  2. kelbel75 says:

    I loved “the alienist” when I first read it years ago, so informative. the criminal plot-line of a serial killer isn’t what intrigued me most though, it was the forensics angle. to think of “profiling” and the use of DNA as groundbreaking, when most dismissed the practice, was very thought provoking.

  3. I actually really like this suggestion!. Although she was in the first two installments of Twilight, she satisfies one of my criteria of not being a household name. I also think she has that athletic quality I’d like to see in Diana. I haven’t seen her ‘act’ enough though to decide if she could carry the vast majority of a movie.

    And of course, Armitage for Clairmont all the way! http://Www.armitage4clairmont.com and http://www.facebook.com/armitage4clairmont

    • marieastra8 says:

      LOL! Yes. I thought she did well in the tv show I saw her in. Not exactly Shakespeare, but I thought she did a good job.Thanks for your comment! ArmitageforClairmont!

  4. Herba says:

    I love your choice for Diana! Rachelle LeFevre seems to fit really good!

  5. Alienist was one of my favorite books, too, and I’m thinking of purchasing the digital copy of it just so I can reread it again. And I finished reading the Potato Peel Society book and that was a quick and charming read 🙂

Leave a Reply

