Richard Armitage as Thorin (plus pelt)

thorin pelt 1 I’ve been thinking about Thorin‘s pelt today. So I looked for some pictures of it. There are a lot of them! I was looking for the pelt, but what really struck me was Richard Armitage‘s face. What a beautiful face he has as Thorin! His spirit just shines through. Everyone else looks dull and uninteresting next to him.

thorin pelt buckle orcs       Don’t you just want to get up close to that furry goodness?

Thorin was not a favorite character of mine from The Hobbit (book). What I remember best about him was the end of his story, his madness and his ending with Bilbo. I remember being very sad when I read that part. I can’t imagine how sad it will be with Richard Armitage as Thorin! Because now Thorin IS my favorite character in The Hobbit (movie)!

thorin pelt night buckle

thorin smile pelt                  thorin pelt running

One of the best aspects of Richard Armitage as Thorin is something you can’t see in pictures. It’s his voice. Mr. Armitage says he worked to deepen his tones, so Thorin’s voice would be different from his voice. When I saw An Unexpected Journey for the first time I was struck by the voice before I even registered what he looked like. “Gandalf”. Just the way he said that made me sit up and take notice.

thorin pelt wet 2

Even wet he looks good!

thorin pelt wounded  smilethorin pelt horse 2

thorin pelt erebor

thorin pelt lying down  thorin pelt wounded 2

thorin pelt dwalin

 

Thanks to RichardArmitage.net for the photos!

About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Richard Armitage as Thorin (plus pelt)

  1. bechep says:

    Now you know how I feel about the pelt. Im considering getting a tshirt made that says #PeltyGoodness. I just want to grab it, bury my face in it, wrap it around myself, go to sleep on it, stroke it, lie on it and eat chocolate icecream, run my fingers through it…. *Shakes head* sorry, went to my happy place for a moment there. Of course, all the above actions would take place while the owner of the pelt was nestled securely inside.

  2. Servetus says:

    Didn’t he say something about the pelt recently?

    • marieastra8 says:

      Not sure. I remember him talking about Thorin being top heavy like a bison, or something like that. Maybe the pelt is part of that. I must admit I got quite lost in the pictures of him in that pelt!

      • Servetus says:

        I ran across it again last night, will send to you via email when I get a chance.

        On Thu, May 16, 2013 at 8:01 PM, Obsessive Behavior wrote:

        > ** > marieastra8 commented: “Not sure. I remember him talking about Thorin > being top heavy like a bison, or something like that. Maybe the pelt is > part of that. I must admit I got quite lost in the pictures of him in that > pelt! “

      • marieastra8 says:

        OK I couldn’t find it!

  3. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 79: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  4. kaprekar says:

    I think Peter Jackson was very clever to cast Richard in this role, I doubt there are many actors who could pull off all the grumpiness and stubbornness and yet still make the character sympathetic and appealing. Throw in a good dose of sexy and you are onto a winner!

    • marieastra8 says:

      Yeah, PJ is a genius. I wonder if he really knew all he was getting in RA. I’m sure he knew RA was a good actor, but the sexy? For Thorin? LOL! I had no idea, myself! Thanks for the comment!

  5. heartland says:

    Just tripped over this blog, wanted to add, I’d never heard of this guy (U.S.) and thought the Hobbit would be 13 garden gnomes trotting about – so wrong!. Oh, man, Peter Jackson is playing us like a master, casting RA who is beyond stunning in the part, and a voice like the fall of evening. Once read that the camera loved Marilyn Munroe’s face and never thought of it again until I saw RA as Thorin – the camera loves HIS face. Thorin Majesty, indeed.

    • marieastra8 says:

      Woo hoo! You must see RA’s other stuff if you haven’t seen already. He is a master. And you are so right about PJ’ casting expertise! Thanks for commenting!!

Leave a Reply

