Almost Like Being in Love

What a day this has been
What a rare mood I’m in
Why, it’s almost like being in love

There’s a smile on my face
For the whole human race
Why, it’s almost like being in love

All the music of life seems to be
Like a bell that is ringing for me
And from the way that I feel
When that bell starts to peal
I would swear I was falling
I could swear I was falling
It’s almost like being in love

(words & music by lerner & loewe) 
ra TH
      I’m hearing those bells pealing right now. And there’s a smile on my face. Why, it’s almost like being in love!  And what, you ask, caused me to float among the stars? I got a letter from Richard Armitage yesterday! Yes, it was a form letter – but HE signed it! It came to me in my office yesterday and the postmark was from Leicestershire, where his mom and dad live. Does mom help him with his fan mail? I hope so! How sweet is that??
     Back to love. So what is this ArmitageMania, the Armitage Effect, whatever you want to call it? I am taking the bold step of calling it love. It seems to me that what we experience is falling in love with Richard when we find ourselves thinking about him all the time, staring at his pictures, driven to look for information about him on the internet, or buying every dvd, audiobook, and magazine photo shoot he’s done.
             raGlamour-24
     How do I know this? I’ve been here before. Back in 2003, Hugh Jackman was starring in a Broadway show called The Boy from Oz. In October, 2003 I took my mom to see it. Well, my experience of seeing Hugh on stage as Peter Allen was the equivalent of my seeing Richard Armitage as Thorin in The Hobbit. <<THUD>>
      In 2003 I left the theater with the intention of finding out more about this Hugh Jackman, about whom I only knew that he achieved massive critical acclaim playing Curly in Oklahoma in London. I watched a bunch of his movies on dvd and was less than impressed. Then I went back to see The Boy from Oz again. I was finished.
hj boy fro oz
     Stendahl, the 19th century French novelist wrote a famous book “On Love”. He talks about “the happy few” who experience  the delight that comes from intense feeling, lucid awareness, passion and energy; the happiness of reverie, of response to beauty, of the free imagination – and the happiness found in loving, even without return….”
     Stendahl spoke also of a process of “crystallization” that happens when you fall in love. “What I have called crystallization is a mental process which draws from everything that happens new proofs of the perfection of the loved one.” Basically he is describing the process by which we pull the beloved apart to admire him better. Ascribing everything he does with the proof of perfection. Each interview, each photo shoot, each performance, appears to us as perfect. His hair, his beard, his eyes, his ears, his nose, his arms, his thighs, his hands, his VOICE!! PERFECT!!! PLUS, his shy manner, his wit, his attentiveness to his interviewer, his geeky intensity when talking about something he cares about like Tolkien, Peter Jackson, or acting. PERFECT! Who can fail to love him???
 CompanyofDwarves-21
I will save my experiences with Hugh during his days playing The Boy from Oz for another day. Meanwhile, must spend some time with Lucas North….
RA spooks
Thanks to richardarmitagenet.com and hugh-fan.com for the photos.
About NYCPAT

From New York City. Anglophile, theater-goer, love books, music and LIFE.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost Like Being in Love

  1. Pingback: Legenda 71: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  2. guylty says:

    Thanks for a great post! Those are two really interesting quotes from Stendahl, I must say. And just drawing from experience, they ring absolutely true. I feel vindicated in my occasional obsessive (over)analysing of RA then – it seems to be perfectly normal, according to Stendahl. Great – let’s cancel the group therapy. We are alright.

  3. Love Stendahl’s definition of “crystalization” and glad to see that not everyone considers such a thing as objectification at all.

    • marieastra8 says:

      yes. it means accepting that what we are feeling is real. you can only feel love for someone you see as real. objectification is seeing someone as not real, only seeing a superficial part of the person. i love seeing armitagemania as a real, common psychological process. being in love with a person, even “without return”.

      • with 20 years old gap between him and I, I think I like him.
        It hurts to accepting that this love is “without return”.
        Anyway, I hope he finds his soul mate and marry her.
        It might soothe our intense feelings :d

      • marieastra8 says:

        Yes. That’s the way it is when you love a celebrity. I wonder if he got married if we would be soothed or jealous! LOL I would be very happy for him. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

